Hey Guys, One Beep on Dell 4550? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-24-2006, 03:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Chazzer3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: North West, UK
Posts: 449
Send a message via AIM to Chazzer3
Default Hey Guys, Problem, (no start), Dell 4550?

Hey everyone,

My Parents old dell has a problem. When you turn it on, there is one sharp beep. Piercing in fact.

Can anyone explain?

Thanks a lot,

Charlie -

By the way, it turns on, beeps, fans are audible, screen displays nothing, and does nothing, eventually turning off.
__________________

Chazzer3 is offline  
Old 08-24-2006, 07:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

try another powersupply and if that doesnt work then try another graphics card if there is no graphics card and it is integrated graphics replace the mobo.
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 12:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
dcc
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 107
Default

The Dell 4550 beep code for a single beep indicates that A memory refresh failure occurred, and the suggested action is to reseat the memory.

After two or three years of use it wouldn't seem logical for this mechanical type of problem to occurr, but that is what Dell shows here.
It's worth checking out, and while your in there you might try clearing the CMOS.
dcc is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 04:06 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Chazzer3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: North West, UK
Posts: 449
Send a message via AIM to Chazzer3
Default

Okay. It turns out, the beep was caused by a camera attatched to it, that had run out of battery, and whenever I turned on the computer. It beeped.

Thanks for you help, but now its even weirder. The computer just doesn't turn on at all.... Should I remove the battery and unplug it for a while?

Charlie -
Chazzer3 is offline  
Old 08-27-2006, 08:10 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Chazzer3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: North West, UK
Posts: 449
Send a message via AIM to Chazzer3
Default

Thanks for your help all, I just had to reseat the gfx card and then reset the cmos.

Cheers for your help.

Charlie -
Chazzer3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.