Here We Go Again - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-14-2007, 08:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Nyc
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to Mradeedee Send a message via MSN to Mradeedee Send a message via Yahoo to Mradeedee
Angry Here We Go Again

Hello, im new here and ill say hi to introduce my self now let get down to TECH
Ok My comp has been giving me problems since about yesterday
After I Downloaded Adobe photoshop cs2,
The problem that occurred is memory and space. after dowloading it i had 313 mb left on my comp, which is very sad if do say so my self when it only takes up about 1gb for everything.
I then free up 3gb worth of space and say woot ok im good Now But i was Wrong. After Freeing up the space i reboot comp and turned it off on the account it was a rough night,The next day i turn on my computer and it does one of these windows checks and when everything was done i was back to 1.5 gigs WTF MAN, i then delete adobe and i get back to 2.1, i mess around and do other stuff and i get 1.6 agian WTF WTF WTF.

Now I AM PEEVED and i wanted ed to know
Should i Just Factory reset this and end my problems.

P.s Im running windows xp on a dimension 4500 with a max of 18 gigs
__________________

Mradeedee is offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 08:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
cichlidkeeper91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 210
Default Re: Here We Go Agian

Did you ever touch the RAM inside the case. Try taking them out then putting them back in.
__________________

__________________
............nub
cichlidkeeper91 is offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 08:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Here We Go Agian

Hey fellow New Yorker

...what part of NYC are you from, anyway?

You definitely need to get a bigger hard drive, and reinstall Windows.

What did you mess around with, after deleting Photoshop?

Or you can reset the BIOS, and see if that helps.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 08:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Nyc
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to Mradeedee Send a message via MSN to Mradeedee Send a message via Yahoo to Mradeedee
Default Re: Here We Go Agian

Im From Brookyln
And Yea i need to uprgrade my hard drive i just dont how i go upon doing that.
Also ive messed around deleting some programed files hat had nothing to do with anything besides ******* my computer
And How do i go upon resetting my bio and what is that process


Also i have never touched anything inside my comp
Mradeedee is offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 09:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Here We Go Agian

Cool...I'm from Queens.

Oh yea...if your computer is still under warranty, it's best not to touch anything inside. But you would obviously have to get inside, to upgrade the hard drive.

To reset the BIOS, you go inside and look for a watch battery. You take it out, and leave it out for about 10-15 minutes, then you put it back in.

But as I said before. If you're computer is still under warranty, don't open it.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 09:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Nyc
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to Mradeedee Send a message via MSN to Mradeedee Send a message via Yahoo to Mradeedee
Default Re: Here We Go Again

I got this bad boy in 2002-2003 now 07 No warranty on that now is there. dam i think factory reset would set me free or if i can find a old restore point restore to back then and then fix it from there casue i hate factory reset Especially thoes dam drivers

Btw i am 13 2 so wouldn't that mean im the youngest on T.f
Also i used to live queens
Mradeedee is offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 09:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Here We Go Again

I'd say, if there are too many problems to deal with, a fresh Windows install is best. But get a bigger hard drive.

I see you looked at my T.F. WR thread. I guess you are the youngest then. Can't edit it anymore, though.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 10:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Nyc
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to Mradeedee Send a message via MSN to Mradeedee Send a message via Yahoo to Mradeedee
Default Re: Here We Go Again

Yea ima gonna do that if i cant do anything else that will be A LAST resort

And ok
__________________

Mradeedee is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.