Help WD Raptor not running at 10k RPM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-01-2006, 12:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Phanto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 603
Default Help WD Raptor not running at 10k RPM

Well I was using my computer and suddenly there was an electricity bassoon I have a UPS but my its pretty old and it can't handle my computer so obviously my computer turn off as if it did not have ups at all. Hours later I decide to turn it on again but i notice that when that windows xp screen boot shows up it takes more time there ( something that have not happend to me before, when that screen appear it take the time that it would take a hard disk of 7200 rpm to boot.

When the system finally boot at the bottom of the right appear a message that said some windows files are corrupt e.c.t I check the hard disk for error but i didn't find anything, after that i chec the start menu and i notice that my antivirus (NOD32) it is like "uninstalled" I tried to enter to the folder in Program Files but when i click it the folder hangs up for some second and then a message appear that the disk is not formatted if I like to format it now.

After all this I decide to format the disk and install a fresh copy of XP so I did it all works fine exept for the windows XP boot up it take more time than before the bassoon. To give you an example before the bassoon my boot up time when the windows xp logo appear was only one bar passing only one, after the bassoon it take like four to five.

I'm very frustated plz is someone can help me I will be very thankful

Sorry if someone don't understand some of my words but English is my second language my first is Spanish .
__________________

__________________
i5 2500k @ 4.5GHz
COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus
MSI Z77A-G45
16GB Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3 1600MHz
Corsair HX650w
eVGA 670 GTX 2GB
Samsung 840 Pro SSD 256GB
Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 3TB
ASUS VG248QE Black 24" 144Hz, Samsung 24" S24B300, Samsung 22" 226BW & HP L1908W 19" (Quad Monitor Setup)
COOLER MASTER HAF 912
Phanto is offline  
Old 05-01-2006, 06:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

RMA the drive. It isn't running at 7.2K it is just about to die.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 05-01-2006, 12:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

try the WD datalife guard utilities it will tell you if anything is wrong

http://support.wdc.com/download/inde...n&pid=1&swid=1
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 05-01-2006, 10:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Phanto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 603
Default

I today in the morning i was installing some programs of no importance when it ask me for a restart I obviously did it, when the windows xp boot screen appear the loading bar just passed one time just like used to do before the bassoon after that i check again if this was true but the second time i did it took more time just like after the bassoon, I'm not the best at troubleshooting but I guessing that maybe is some kind of driver or something I'm not sure..

I have run some programs like Hard disk sentinel and it said that Hard disk performance and health is 100% - exellent so i don't think the drive is damage at all, something must be bothering up my hard disk.

OMG... plz I beg of you someone help me!!!
__________________
i5 2500k @ 4.5GHz
COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus
MSI Z77A-G45
16GB Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3 1600MHz
Corsair HX650w
eVGA 670 GTX 2GB
Samsung 840 Pro SSD 256GB
Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 3TB
ASUS VG248QE Black 24" 144Hz, Samsung 24" S24B300, Samsung 22" 226BW & HP L1908W 19" (Quad Monitor Setup)
COOLER MASTER HAF 912
Phanto is offline  
Old 05-01-2006, 10:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

It is possable you had a flakey install of xp you can try reinstalling it, It happens you know.
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 10:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Phanto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 603
Default

I will reinstall XP again and let you guys know what happend
__________________

__________________
i5 2500k @ 4.5GHz
COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus
MSI Z77A-G45
16GB Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3 1600MHz
Corsair HX650w
eVGA 670 GTX 2GB
Samsung 840 Pro SSD 256GB
Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 3TB
ASUS VG248QE Black 24" 144Hz, Samsung 24" S24B300, Samsung 22" 226BW & HP L1908W 19" (Quad Monitor Setup)
COOLER MASTER HAF 912
Phanto is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.