Help!! Urgent Boot-Up Problems!! URGENT!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-19-2005, 10:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
T0t
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 180
Default Help!! Urgent Boot-Up Problems!! URGENT!!

I just got a new PC. Everything seemed to boot up normal until this morning. I heard a really loud whirring noise so I restarted. Then an error message came up and it said my Radeon 9800 PRO's power cable wasn't connected properly. I restarted twice and the error message came up twice. I waited about 10 minutes and that error was gone, but I got a new error. Now it says "System is running in Fail-Safe State.Please recheck BIOS CMOS SETUP.Press F1 to continue, DEL to enter setup"I pressed F1 and everything seemed to run normal, but those issues are still bugging me. HELP!
__________________

T0t is offline  
Old 08-19-2005, 11:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4
Default

yea i always stick with invidia imo ati wrots
__________________

g4l_sweepa is offline  
Old 08-19-2005, 11:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

The "fail safe state" is a BIOS setting. Did you check to make sure your video card was seated correctly, make sure you didn't loosen any other cables by accident.

Resetting your BIOS should fix the problem. There will be a set of 3 pins next you your CMOS battery with a jumper on 2 of the pins. To clear it, you have to move the jumper to the other set of pins. For example, pins 1 2 3, a jumper will be on 1 & 2, you need to move the jumper to pins 2 & 3, re-boot, it will tell you your BIOS was cleared. THen shut down, move the jumper back and reboot.

Check your motherboard manual to double check which pins you need to jumper to clear it.

Hope that helps.
__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 08-19-2005, 11:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

check the damn cable! the bios will be fine it just lost its memory.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 08-19-2005, 11:41 AM   #5 (permalink)
T0t
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 180
Default

I did check the cable. Everything SEEMS to be hooked up correctly.
T0t is offline  
Old 08-19-2005, 11:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

ok. sorry for the snappy response if thats how it sounded
Nitestick is offline  
Old 08-19-2005, 02:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
T0t
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 180
Default

Allright, I called tech support. They had me reset my bios using the bios menu. After that they told me to recheck my vid cards connection. I took out the video card, cleaned it, cleaned the mobo, and popped the video card back in. No errors so far. I'm going to let it run for an hour or so with the case open. The loud whirring(sounds like a blender) still bothers me though. Its happeend before, but stops whenever I open up the case and TRY to clean the cpu. Could dust be causing this loud "whirring" noise? What else could it be?
T0t is offline  
Old 08-19-2005, 02:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by T0t
Allright, I called tech support. They had me reset my bios using the bios menu. After that they told me to recheck my vid cards connection. I took out the video card, cleaned it, cleaned the mobo, and popped the video card back in. No errors so far. I'm going to let it run for an hour or so with the case open. The loud whirring(sounds like a blender) still bothers me though. Its happeend before, but stops whenever I open up the case and TRY to clean the cpu. Could dust be causing this loud "whirring" noise? What else could it be?
I guess I typed all that for nothing then
__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 08-19-2005, 04:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
T0t
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 180
Default

I appreciate it, but I figured Id call tech support first. Get their opinion since they did build my computer. Id still appreciate some help on:
Allright, I called tech support. They had me reset my bios using the bios menu. After that they told me to recheck my vid cards connection. I took out the video card, cleaned it, cleaned the mobo, and popped the video card back in. No errors so far. I'm going to let it run for an hour or so with the case open. The loud whirring(sounds like a blender) still bothers me though. Its happeend before, but stops whenever I open up the case and TRY to clean the cpu. Could dust be causing this loud "whirring" noise? What else could it be?

Since it does worry me.
T0t is offline  
Old 08-19-2005, 06:00 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 320
Default

Your psu is probably about to die.(Has seen the same thing happen 4 times*only once was the card accuraly messed up*)
__________________

__________________
Grayfox is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.