help! specs included - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2006, 11:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 18
Exclamation PC Problem! help! specs included

eVGA sli mobo (came with gpu)
eVGA 7800gt 256mb
patriot 1gig ram
seagate sata hd
amd 3700+

Hey, i just built this PC about a month ago...here recently though it has been shutting off randomly (a few mins after restart usually) but it doesnt always do it... It also doesnt keep the time...I figure it is a bad CMOS but i cant find anything on the net that says a bad cmos causes random crashes. Any ideas? i also recently put new thermal paste on the CPU but, i remember it doing this before then...thx for the help b4 hand
__________________

RastaManRingo is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 11:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 18
Exclamation help! specs included

eVGA sli mobo (came with gpu)
eVGA 7800gt 256mb
patriot 1gig ram
seagate sata hd
amd 3700+

Hey, i just built this PC about a month ago...here recently though it has been shutting off randomly (a few mins after restart usually) but it doesnt always do it... It also doesnt keep the time...I figure it is a bad CMOS but i cant find anything on the net that says a bad cmos causes random crashes. Any ideas? i also recently put new thermal paste on the CPU but, i remember it doing this before then...thx for the help b4 hand
__________________

RastaManRingo is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 12:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Which PSU do you have?
Vybuni is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 01:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 405
Default

yep, sounds like a PSU issue
__________________
The_Tobes99 is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 06:08 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769
Default

what temps is your CPU running at?
__________________
Sprooty is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 02:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Just a guess, the motherboard battery could have went south (bad) on you,
Duckster is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 09:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Please post the PSU.
turtile is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 09:30 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 18
Default

my PSU is an Antec truepower II 550w....it shouldnt be the problem? but, multiple people have said it could be the power supply..dunno
RastaManRingo is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 09:47 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 315
Default

ive never heard of Antec PSU's failing lol but thts probably the issue
__________________

AMD Athlon 64 x2 3800+
DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR
eVGA 7800GT
OCZ Gold DDR400 2GB(2x1GB)
OCZ ModStream 520 Watt PSU
Creative Soundblaster X-FI Extreme Music 24-Bit
Western Digital Raptor 36GB and Caviar 160GB
Thermaltake Armor Full Tower
karpfish24 is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 02:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 18
Exclamation Bad PSU? Cmos? AHH!! help! specs included

Hey..i have made a few posts and cant really get what i need...here are my specs...
eVGA SLI mobo (came with gpu)
eVGA 7800gt 256mb
1 gig patriot memory
antec truepower II 550w PSU (replaced case one)
amd 3700+ san diego...

My symptoms are......Computer will randomly have a hard crash and power off completely, without shutting down or anything just poof....Also, in games.....the PC will freeze up (if it stays on that is) and be still with no sound (or soung stuck) for about 40secs then it continues.....If i can get the PC 2 stay on for more than 10mins it will stay on until i shut it off...Also, I cant find a program that supports my mobo to get temps for it and my cpu....Also, the time doesnt keep... The last one here makes me think its a bad CMOS but, everything and everyone else points to a bad PSU! but, i never heard of a bad antec PSU! and im not overusing the 550w either!! ahh!!!
__________________

RastaManRingo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.