Help, some programs can't see internet connection - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-22-2005, 10:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3
Unhappy Help, some programs can't see internet connection

Hello all I'm new here to this forum and I'm hoping someone can help me. Sorry in advance if this is a long post. I just want to make sure I give as much information as possible. I have a computer with Win98SE, a gig of ram, and 1 GHz intel celeron processor. It's not a name brand computer since my husband and I built it piece by piece. A couple of weeks ago I got a notice about a critical update for Windows. I went to the Microsoft page but the program wouldn't scan. It would just hang there at 0%. I did some research and found a document in the Microsoft knowlege base that said I needed to re-install the window scripting software version 5.6. I went ahead and downloaded it. I got an error message the first time I tried to install it, (I can't remember the message). I ran it again and it installed and everything seemed fine again. I shut down and the next day when I went to start up my computer I got a bunch of messages saying certain files were missing, (iso.vxd, ifsmgr.vxd, esuart.vxd and vmm32.vxd). Then it told me Windows did not have enough memory to start and would shut down. I tried starting in safemode and the same thing happened, it just shut down. I was finally able to re-install windows but my display wasn' working and I didn't have an internet connection. I currently have a cable modem and my ISP is Brighthouse/RoadRunner. My husband and I share the connection through a DLink 4 port broadband router (DI704P). His connection is fine (he uses a Mac). I couldn't Ping ip's or domain names. In order to save space I won't get into everything I did. However, I did uninstall and re-install the network info, (I have a 10/100 PCI ethernet adapter) and updated all drivers. I was finally able to ping ip's but not domain names. Internet Explorer (IE) would start but then it gave me an error message regarding the msvcrt.dll. I replaced that file, (copied from my other computer) and then I added my isp's ip and domain name to the host file. IE now starts and I am able to use the internet. I can also ping both ip's and domain names. My problem is however, I still have programs that tell me I do not have an internet connection. For example the following programs all say I do not have access to the internet, RoadRunner medic (diagnostic program), Live Update for Norton Internet Security (NIS), Firefox and a couple of more. I disabled NIS completely and still had issues, in case that was causing issues. I can download files and access any website using IE. So my question is what I have I missed? I have run different utility programs and can't find anything, and I am now at a lost as to how to fix this. I consider myself to be in intermediate computer user but in no way an expert. Any help/ideas you can give me would be greatly appreciated. Let me know if you need more info.

mrsr99 is offline  
Old 08-22-2005, 11:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Law's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200

Did you do a clean install? or install over it without formating?

Law is offline  
Old 08-23-2005, 05:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

microsoft no longer supports windows 98se.
Visit my website -
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 08-23-2005, 08:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813

I would just re-install the programs that can't find your internet connection. Usually when you install these programs they look for your internet connection, now that you changed stuff around they can't find it, so just reinstall or do a repair on them if they support it.
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 08-23-2005, 04:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3

Thanks everyone. I didn't do a clean install, I just re-installed over the existing one. Although Microsoft doesn't 'support' win 98 it still has critical updates and such for it. I'll try to re-install the programs that don't work and see if that helps. Thanks again.
mrsr99 is offline  
Old 08-26-2005, 04:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3

Well I figured out the problem. It appears that when my computer first went haywire, Norton created a firewall protocol that was prohibiting some sites from seeing my connection. I restored the default protocols and everything is now working. Thanks again to everyone that replied. =)

mrsr99 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:47 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.