Help Sigmatel problem. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-20-2008, 05:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4
Default Help Sigmatel problem.

Hi All,

I have a dell latitude d 610 , running windows xp pro. It has a Sigmatel
C-major audio soundcard .

My problem is , no sound except a beep .

I have done the following to no avail , so if anyone can help I would
really appreciate it.

Deleted drivers , and rebooted , all drivers re-install but are marked
with a yellow tick in device manager.
Replaced the motherboard , really thought this would work but no.
Browsed the registry and deleted anything with sigmatel in it, deleted
drivers again , still no good.

I have seen a few threads on other forums relating to this issue .

A re-image is not an option right now , so can anyone help me?

__________________

Shogun12 is offline  
Old 04-20-2008, 07:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Snake91839's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 471
Default Re: Help Sigmatel problem.

Did you download the drivers through Windows Update, or straight from Sigmatel?
__________________

Snake91839 is offline  
Old 04-20-2008, 07:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: Help Sigmatel problem.

Hi,

I got the drivers with the PC so I assume windows, the soundcard used to
work and now with a new motherboard it still does'nt work ,

If I delete the drivers , and reboot , their re-installed again automatically.
Shogun12 is offline  
Old 04-20-2008, 08:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Snake91839's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 471
Default Re: Help Sigmatel problem.

ok, well assuming you deleted the drivers using add/remove programs, go ahead and just go to windows update and see if there are any drivers that happen to be there.
Snake91839 is offline  
Old 04-20-2008, 11:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Help Sigmatel problem.

Okay will first if you get the Yellow ! mark that means there is a conflict with the drivers and they are not the right ones. Replacing the mobo would not help since the drivers previously installed would not match up with the new mobo's onboard sound card.

You need to use something like Belarc Advisor, SiSofware Sandra or Everst to find out hte make and model of your sound card. From there google for it and get the drivers from the manufacturer. That should help solve this issue.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-21-2008, 05:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: Help Sigmatel problem.

Hi,

Thanks for the advice, I'm kind of limited here as its a buisness laptop.
Certain downloads are locked out as I dont have admin rights(dont ask).
Anywho I did read on one site that if I remove all the drivers and all
the remnants from the registry ,then it may work on a reboot.

I'll keep trying!!!
Shogun12 is offline  
Old 04-21-2008, 07:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: Help Sigmatel problem.

Hello folks,

Downloaded Belarc auditor, and its a sigmatel c-major audio.
Got the latest BIOS from windows, removed sigmatel (again), still
shows yellow ticks in device manager.Compared with a collegue who's
got identical hw/sw, all matches up, cant explain this one. There must
be something in the registry that does'nt allow me to fully remove the
old (corrupt drivers)...........

Have a HP engineer coming out tomorrow (3rd time lucky)..... he's
puzzled too.

We'll consider this a challenge until its fixed.

ps my windows updater is not working
Shogun12 is offline  
Old 04-21-2008, 09:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Help Sigmatel problem.

Well the only other option you have is to use Driver Cleaner Pro. But since you said this is a Business PC and you can not download you are stuck until you can get someone with rights to use Driver Cleaner to remove all the instances of the driver from Sigmatel so that you can install the right ones without any conflict with the ones already installed.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with 3D graphics mordi05 Microsoft Windows and Software 6 12-10-2007 11:37 PM
Serious computer problem. HeeRoMaKi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 71 07-28-2007 11:42 PM
Media Library (I Presume) Problem. Nadegas Microsoft Windows and Software 4 06-08-2007 08:27 AM
Software installation problem..... -RockMan- Microsoft Windows and Software 1 05-30-2007 04:10 AM
Chronic Rebooting Problem AND_YOU_ARE Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-24-2007 06:04 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.