help recovering files from slave hd

Status
Not open for further replies.

wildacex187

Solid State Member
hi guys. i would just like to thank anybody that can help me out with this problem. here it goes:

i recently re-installed windows on my computer. before i did though i went in and deleted the partition from both drive (dunno why i did that, i dont remember doing that before). i dont remember if i created a partion in the slave or not but when i go into windows finally i went into my computer to transfer some files onto my master drive but when i double click on the slave it asked me to reformat. now im not an expert but i think that means everything will be erased. i tried everything i know to see if i can get it to work but nothing i know works. a friend told me that the files might be there and that if i dont write anything onto that drive that they wont get deleted.

can anybody help me recover these files. there are very important school files, financial and personal. pls guys guide me in the right direction

When you reformat, it means that you lose everything. A quick format (if available) will just hide the files, so you have a small chance to recover them with a backup utility. A full format will remove and delete the files from the hard drive, making them impossible to backup.

When formatting, don't touch the slave drive. Leave it as it is. Only format the main Master drive.

ok ok i downloaded a program called active partition recovery 5.0. it actually found all the files but for me to recover it i need to buy the full program. can anybody help me find a program that will recover the files for free or can provide me with a name and serial#, if they have paid for it of course :)