help recovering files from slave hd - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread

Old 09-29-2006, 10:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie

Exclamation help recovering files from slave hd

hi guys. i would just like to thank anybody that can help me out with this problem. here it goes:

i recently re-installed windows on my computer. before i did though i went in and deleted the partition from both drive (dunno why i did that, i dont remember doing that before). i dont remember if i created a partion in the slave or not but when i go into windows finally i went into my computer to transfer some files onto my master drive but when i double click on the slave it asked me to reformat. now im not an expert but i think that means everything will be erased. i tried everything i know to see if i can get it to work but nothing i know works. a friend told me that the files might be there and that if i dont write anything onto that drive that they wont get deleted.

can anybody help me recover these files. there are very important school files, financial and personal. pls guys guide me in the right direction

Old 09-30-2006, 12:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned

Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123

When you reformat, it means that you lose everything. A quick format (if available) will just hide the files, so you have a small chance to recover them with a backup utility. A full format will remove and delete the files from the hard drive, making them impossible to backup.

When formatting, don't touch the slave drive. Leave it as it is. Only format the main Master drive.

Old 09-30-2006, 12:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie