help "reboot and select proper boot device - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-27-2009, 04:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Default help "reboot and select proper boot device

How it begin: I built a barebone kit from tigerdirect and the computer ran perfect for close to 4 months. But then i started getting these messages sometimes upon starting the pc: reboot and select proper boot device. Usually upon another boot the pc would load to windows xp, and no problems. Then the problem became an every day routine, and I consulted with a friend who is a tech and suggested maybe the power supply was weak and the hd wasnt getting good spin time, olright so i go upgrade a 450 watt ps to a 500 watt. Still no luck! I am suffering with the same issues still

information: My HD is A sata 160 GB. My cd-rom is master on IDE. Boot preference goes CD-drive, then HD. I have changed the order so many times and tried yet problem persists. Also disabled Onboard IDE and tried boot through ATA only, no luck there either. I flashed the mobo, and setup the bios again but still no luck. If i try to reinstall xp, get error message destination drive invalid, i try to reinstall via ghost cd! Took out the gfx card, and tried to boot - doesn't work. and final thing i did was play around with sata 1 and sata 2, keep switching the wires. Also raid is disabled in bios.

Also while pc was loaded in windows i checked HD via HDTUNE, and there was no errors within it . Another thing, I don't get the same errors if i load windows on IDE HD.

Pc specs: Asus m2n-mx se plus mobo, amd x2 5000 2.6 ghz dual core, 3 gigs ddr2 ram, 160 gigs western digital hd, 8800 gt 512 mb ddr3 ram..

manujg is offline  
Old 01-27-2009, 06:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Hefemeister's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: help "reboot and select proper boot device

could be a slightly damaged sata cable. I did not see if you had switched to a new one in all of the things you have tried.

ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 01-27-2009, 02:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: help "reboot and select proper boot device

but bios detects sata. so i can see my hd on bios screen. But i can try getting a new sata cable and testing it. also if i am able to boot and i m in windows and i just manually restart it, it will boot and windows will run fine. the problem is getting the boot after shutdown
manujg is offline  
Old 02-02-2009, 05:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: help "reboot and select proper boot device

ok the problem still persits after using a new sata cable. The ide drive works and boots, but i can't get my sata drive too boot. Plus on diagnostics the drive shows no errors, " checked the sata drive via dos diagnostics software from western digital". If the sata port on the mother board is damaged do u think the bios will detect the sata drive in bios? or is there a possibility that the the drive has failed after 4 months of use and i need to replace it with a new sata drive? if there is anything else i can try, i would appreciate some tips.

manujg is offline  
Old 02-02-2009, 06:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,799
Default Re: help "reboot and select proper boot device

Sounds like an HDD problem to me. Do you have smart enabled and have you recieved any warning messages?

There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet connection sharing behind a router KSoD Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 8 03-01-2016 10:32 AM
Reboot and Select Proper boot device... simonsayers Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-21-2008 07:31 AM
Black Viper's Top tweaks for a faster PC xXxexpertxXx Overclocking and Modding 0 02-21-2008 09:04 PM
Reboot or select appropriate boot device Jahgro Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 12-31-2007 09:44 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.