Help: Re: CD-ROM Drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-17-2006, 09:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3
Unhappy Help: Re: CD-ROM Drive

For some reason, mt CD-Rom/Burner drive does not work. I insert a CD that worked before and now it doesn't load up. Some people were on my computer earlier and I think they ejected the drive from my computer or something.

It was something like some "USB Mass Storage" thing and "STOP" was pressed. Now most of my drives are gone from "My Computer"

Please help me, thank you!
I am a beginner and know almost squat about how to resolve this.
__________________

que3n is offline  
Old 02-17-2006, 09:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Is it an external USB drive? If so, unplug it and plug it back in. That, or reboot. If it's internal, use the 'find new hardware wizard.'

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-17-2006, 09:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

have you tried rebooting because it seems like this only just happened. are they USB drives?
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-17-2006, 10:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Tried rebooting and I put in a CD and it worked. Put in a blank CDR to burn crap and it doesn't work. Rebooted. Then it didn't recognize anything. The ****.
que3n is offline  
Old 02-17-2006, 10:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

is it an external drive?
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-17-2006, 10:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Internal. It's in some bus.
__________________

que3n is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.