Help please, PC games are really laggy at time.. more info inside - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-24-2007, 12:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 25
Send a message via AIM to BaintPall
Default Help please, PC games are really laggy at time.. more info inside

Okay first off I pay close to $110 for internet a month so Its safe to say I have a good internet connection (even though i have a router) but when im gaming on the computer (low system requirement games that were made in like 1996 off of quake 2 engine) ill lag at some points, i dont know what it is or when it started (or maybe its been doing it ever since i got the computer (or the gfx card)) but when a go into a server on the game thats like semi crowded ill get hugee lag (but my ping doesnt rise, my FPS just goes super low like to 11 FPS from 40 - 60 average) and i tell peopel in the game any1 else lagging? and no1 else is but me, the same problem happens when i play World of warcraft, ive been trying to figure it out for a long time people say it could be my nvidia drivers arent up to date but ive looked for new ones and they either screw up my computer or dont seem to be working or making a difference (maybe ive been dling the wrong ones) but i have a compaq presario, 704mb of ram, umm... like 6 gigs left out of a 30gig hard drive, what else.... ive had the computer for a year and a half.... its AMD 3000+ sempron whatever that means (im not too computer tech literate) 2.00ghz ... graphics card is GeForce 5500 AMD... thats about it, so i dont know what the problem is but I'm hoping to correct this problem soon. also if it matters when i use fraps (PC video game video capturing program) its all good but then when i press the button for it to start recording it seriously goes from a average of 20 FPS to 5 FPS on any game, so idk what the deal is, please help ty
__________________

BaintPall is offline  
Old 02-24-2007, 12:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default

I think it's because of your graphics card. It probably can't handle the graphics since it's pretty old.
__________________

brinks is offline  
Old 02-24-2007, 12:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default

lmao you need a new computer that is worse then my 4 year old laptop the only benefit you have over it is that you have a videocard whilst i only have onboard
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 02-24-2007, 09:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 25
Send a message via AIM to BaintPall
Default

the graphics are worse then the graphics card and im looking for a solution not advice on buying a new computer
BaintPall is offline  
Old 02-24-2007, 09:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default

You could try turning all the settings and resolution to the lowest, that should help alittle.

Close off any unnessary programs when you are gaming to free up some resources.

The best solution is to get a better graphics card, since your current card can't handle the games with a decent frame rate anymore.
brinks is offline  
Old 02-24-2007, 09:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 38
Default

Theres only so far you can go with a computer.
OTOnly is offline  
Old 02-24-2007, 10:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

u can
- defragment ur HD(s)
- end some process in ur task manager to free some RAM space
- buy a stronger card for like $50+ which would be better than wat ur using
- lower resolution during game play
- Overclock
- update ur graphic driver
- install directx 9.0c
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 02-27-2007, 12:03 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 25
Send a message via AIM to BaintPall
Default

whats overclock? and i just got this computer a year and a half ago, my mom wont buy me another one til its like 6 years old at which time i'd be able to buy my own, her computer is turning 9 years old!
BaintPall is offline  
Old 02-27-2007, 04:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Overclocking
__________________

__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.