Help please. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-14-2009, 03:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 46
Default Help please.

Hello everyone i just built my computer and started it everything seemed fine. Instead of booting to the bios it just goes to a screen that says hardware monitor.




any ideas of what is wrong? any help would be appreciated.


When i insert the windows vista disk it acts like its booting windows vista, but it just sits at a screen with my mouse on it.
__________________

iPhone is offline  
Old 03-14-2009, 03:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Help please.

what motherboard? Full system specs? are you hitting del or whatever key boots you into bios at startup?
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 03-14-2009, 03:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 46
Default Re: Help please.

BIOSTAR TpowerX58 LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply - Retail

OCZ Platinum 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Triple Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model OCZ3P1600LV6GK - Retail

Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 ST31500341AS 1.5TB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive (bare drive) - OEM

Core i7 gtx 295
and there is no start up screen it just goes straight to that.
iPhone is offline  
Old 03-14-2009, 03:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Help please.

When starting up the computer, press
<Del> during the Power-On Self-Test
(POST) to enter the BIOS setup utility.

Tell Biostar to turn off the iritating music on their website.

all your info here.
BIOSTAR T Power X58
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 03-14-2009, 03:34 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 46
Default Re: Help please.

there really isnt a power on self test, it just goes straight to that screen after about 5 seconds


***appreciate the help
iPhone is offline  
Old 03-14-2009, 03:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default Re: Help please.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hefemeister View Post
Tell Biostar to turn off the iritating music on their website.
[/url]
Honestly, I didn't believe you. Oh my... my beautiful ears... now... lost...... forever... such horrible sounds coming from that site.

Quote:
Originally Posted by iPhone View Post
there really isnt a power on self test, it just goes straight to that screen after about 5 seconds
Start hitting the key as soon as you power up (one time per second). Do you have any CDs in your drives?
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 03-14-2009, 03:48 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 46
Default Re: Help please.

Alright sweet man i got to the bios ^_^ but now its still doing the wierd boot for vista instead of asking me to select a partition and all that.
iPhone is offline  
Old 03-14-2009, 03:54 AM   #8 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default Re: Help please.

Ok, Are you trying to install an OS? Trying to boot an already loaded OS?
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 03-14-2009, 03:57 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 46
Default Re: Help please.

yeah a clean install there is no OS on the HD, but when i boot from the vista disk, it acts like the OS is loading instead of asking me to format my HDD and all that jazz
iPhone is offline  
Old 03-14-2009, 04:01 AM   #10 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default Re: Help please.

Do you have multiple drives (two DVD/CD-ROM drives)? You might be placing the disk into the wrong one.

If not, let's get into your BIOS and work from there.

(if at all possible, do you have ventrilo? MSN voice? Do you have a mic? or can I give you my cell number?... honestly, I hate working real time via 1998 standards (text).. it's very slow for me and I get fidgity)

I assume you took your pics from your iphone. If thats the case, you could send the ones you are looking at now in real time to mine (or my email and I will pull them from there)

If you have a mic and ventrilo:
vent4.gameservers.com
port: 4716
I am on now
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.