help please - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-06-2007, 10:04 AM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default Re: help please

well I took the card out and it was extremely dusty. The temp dropped to about 50 degrees celsius after I got rid of the dust.

I still put it in my other computer and it had lag so its the graphics card.

It takes about 10-20 minutes for the lag to start and then it just gets worse.
__________________

Norcent is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 10:11 AM   #12 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: help please

LoL if your dust clog made the Card heat that much then maybe the card is damaged

Keep constant updates and ill try and help you
__________________

__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 10:12 AM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default Re: help please

I am not overclocking cause that would void the warranty right?

Anywho thank you guys for all your help. I just contacted EVGA and hope they give me a replacement since I have a lifetime warranty.

Oh and I know that 70 degrees isn't good for this card. I don't know what drugs that guy was on but whatever.

Its only in games that I notice anything wrong. Other than that this card is good. This card would be great for a business or something but I am a gamer so I need a good card.
Norcent is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 10:23 AM   #14 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: help please

I'm not sure if overclocking voids warranty's (don't think it does) but to be safe just get the replacement.

If your replacement shows no difference then i would just assume you need to overclock to get effective performances.


Oh just asking, you do have the latest video drivers and have your video settings for gaming not at the highest performance (have you tried everything on low?)
__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 10:31 AM   #15 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default Re: help please

i have the latest drivers. I want to overclock the new graphics card but won't if it voids the warranty.

I used to be able to play NFSC on high settings but now I can't without graphics lag. I didn't try the settings on low but I bet that it will be about 30 minutes to 1 hour before it starts lagging if its going to.

does overclocking hurt the gpu?

It don't say anything about overclocking on evga's website. Just says if the gpu is scratched or damaged then the graphics card can't be replaced.
Norcent is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 10:54 AM   #16 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: help please

Unless you do something ridiculously out of the Gfx cards capabilities then you can't really damage it by overclocking.

If your going to overclock then i would recommend talking to a friend or some form of other support than me (just incase i f*k it )
__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 11:37 AM   #17 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default Re: help please

I will ask my friend who is into reading about stuff like that.
Norcent is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 06:10 PM   #18 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default Re: help please

my friend said it will void the warranty. I think if you overclock a tad it won't void it cause it might be harder or even impossible for them to detect.
Norcent is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 08:54 PM   #19 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: help please

Then don't overclock

One idea is maybe to run Memtest86

Here: Memtest86.com - Memory Diagnostic


Just read the instructions (probaly run it for 1 hour, and also try running your game while using memtest) and if you get any errors then post back.
__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 10:48 AM   #20 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default Re: help please

Hey guys I am not listening to my friends anymore. I e-mailed EVGA and they said OVERCLOCKING doesn't void the WARRANTY!!!!!!!!!!!!
__________________

Norcent is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.