Help with nonsystem disk message>>>> - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-27-2005, 09:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2
Default Help with nonsystem disk message>>>>

I am a beginner! started pc up and right away comes up Nonsystem disk error.....no disk inside anywhere...easy instructrutions needed please!
I just got the pc from a yard sale, plugged it in and thats what I get....any & all help appreciated- thank you ahead of time....
karentries@yahoo.com
__________________

karentries is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 09:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

First thing, check to see if there is a floppy disk in the floppy drive, if there is take it out and boot it up again.
__________________

__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 09:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
BVR
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 74
Default

No OS installed or HD is not found. Check the BIOS see if there is a HD info there.
__________________
CompTIA A+
CompTIA Net+
MCP 2000
BVR is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 12:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2
Default

No Floppy or cd in any drive.....how exactly do you check the bios?
sorry - this is all new to me...
karentries is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 01:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

Hit the "Del" key every second or so as the machine is booting up. From there you can use the arrow keys to navigate your BIOS and see if it detects a hard drive. While you're there, find the boot device order and if there is a hdd, make sure it's set to boot from it.

More than likely whoever sold it wasn't going to leave there OS and files on it, so they formatted the drive. You'll need to install an OS.
__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 01:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Depending on the Make and Model of your machine you may need to hit Delete ( which is usually the industry standard ) while it boots up. If you start hitting Delete several times after you power on you should be able to access the bios...

Once you are there you need to check for boot device.
You need to see what order the boot device is set to.
Usually people boot to
Floppy, then Cd-ROM and last is the Hard drive.
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.