Help! No Display on Startup. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-25-2006, 03:16 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default

Make sure you have your memory in the right slots. If you don't on some boards you will not be able to boot. Check you manual to make sure.
__________________

__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 03:33 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7
Default

Hi Synergy,

Yup, the 2 RAM modules are in the correct slots. I think I'm booting OK in every respect except video. A live Linux disk appears to spin normally in the DVD drive, I get the single beep from the speaker that my manual says means everything's OK. It's frustrating.

Thanks for your suggestion, though,

Tim
__________________

baltimoretim is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 04:06 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 136
Default

I am having a similar problem with a computer i just put together at work. I am going to swap out the PSU with one that i had at home and give that a shot.
__________________
AMD Athlon 3400+ 64-Bit
Gigabyte KN8-Pro MOBO
1.5 GB PC3200 Ultra ValueRam
GeForce 6800 GT 256Mb W/ Arctic Cooling
2 120 Gb Western Digital in Raid 0
250Gb IDE Western Digital HD
500 Watt Ultra X-Connect PS
Raidmax Cobra Case Blue

Laptop: 12\' Apple Powerbook G4
IceyDeath23 is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 04:09 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7
Default

Hi IceyDeath,

Could you report back with your results? I'm really interested. As I'm probably going to have to return/exchange at least some of this hardware, I'd like to get it right the first time.

I'm getting a loaner video card tonight, and I'll let y'all know how that works.

Thanks,

Tim
baltimoretim is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 04:37 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 136
Default

I just swapped out PSU's and still nothing. Only difference i am having compared to tim's is that my MOBO is not giving me any error beeps with the card taken out of the machine. I am calling ABIT as we speak, i am starting to think that there could be something wrong with the PCI-E slot on the board. I just pulled the RAM and the thing started beeping at me like crazy. I cant find a section about error beeps in the manual or on their site. and holy crap their tech hotline has some annoying music....i will check back in when i get off the phone with them.
__________________
AMD Athlon 3400+ 64-Bit
Gigabyte KN8-Pro MOBO
1.5 GB PC3200 Ultra ValueRam
GeForce 6800 GT 256Mb W/ Arctic Cooling
2 120 Gb Western Digital in Raid 0
250Gb IDE Western Digital HD
500 Watt Ultra X-Connect PS
Raidmax Cobra Case Blue

Laptop: 12\' Apple Powerbook G4
IceyDeath23 is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 05:11 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 136
Default

Alrighty after sitting on the phone listening to the crappy music on abit tech support hotline for the last half hour. i am giving up on them plus i think i will kill everyone in my office if i have to listen to that music any longer. I just noticed that the extra PSU that i had @ home was less powerful then the already crappy one that came with the case. Looks like i am going to have to pull the PSU in my case (500 Watt) and give that a shot tom. morning.

I will post the components on this one if that helps:
Abit Fata1ty MOBO
Intel P4 775 Socket 2.8 Ghz
Nvidia 6600 GT PCI-E
250 Maxtor IDE HD
Aopen DVD Drive

And i have tried a 450 and a 420 Watt PSU with no luck on either as far as picture goes. It seems like everything else is running including the fan on the Video card so i have no clue. But i will be bringing the 500 Watt'er with me tom. morning to give that one a shot.
__________________
AMD Athlon 3400+ 64-Bit
Gigabyte KN8-Pro MOBO
1.5 GB PC3200 Ultra ValueRam
GeForce 6800 GT 256Mb W/ Arctic Cooling
2 120 Gb Western Digital in Raid 0
250Gb IDE Western Digital HD
500 Watt Ultra X-Connect PS
Raidmax Cobra Case Blue

Laptop: 12\' Apple Powerbook G4
IceyDeath23 is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 09:11 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7
Default

I got it!

I borrowed an older AGP card from a friend, dropped it in, and it fired right up.

So, I guess my motherboard doesn't like PCI graphics cards at all. Go figure.

Thanks for all the help!

--Tim
baltimoretim is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 01:43 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 136
Default

Well i had a different fix to the solution. The ram i was using to boot up the system was the wrong speed of DDR. Aparently the Abit board will only start with a pc 3200 stick of DDR2 in Dimm 1 and my stick of PC 4200 was too fast. New stick and problem fixed.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 3400+ 64-Bit
Gigabyte KN8-Pro MOBO
1.5 GB PC3200 Ultra ValueRam
GeForce 6800 GT 256Mb W/ Arctic Cooling
2 120 Gb Western Digital in Raid 0
250Gb IDE Western Digital HD
500 Watt Ultra X-Connect PS
Raidmax Cobra Case Blue

Laptop: 12\' Apple Powerbook G4
IceyDeath23 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.