Help, new PC wont start!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2008, 07:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 276
Default Help, new PC wont start!!!

Well ran into my first problem. Pressing the on button wont turn on the pc:freak:

Its getting power because the green LED on the mobo is shining, but cant actually boot up the PC.

I have the CPU power plugged in, the fans power leads, the big molex one to the mobo, the GFX 6 pin power leads are in.

What can i do
__________________

__________________
Thermaltake Tsunami Dream
Asus 560 DCII OC 1GB
Intel Q6600 @ 2.4
Asus P5KC aiLifestyle Mobo
4GB Corsair XMS2 PC2-6400
Gigabyte 720W PSU
Windows 7 Home Premium
Method is offline  
Old 08-08-2008, 07:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 245
Default Re: Help, new PC wont start!!!

I would first make sure you have the 2 and 3 pin connectors that go from the say PWR switch, reset, PWR LED, etc etc plugged in correctly to the mobo... a quick test to see if it has power is hit the power button on the mobo to make sure instead of the button on the case. Double check all connections
__________________

__________________
MB-EVGA 780i FTW
CPU-Q6600@3.6
Cooling- Custom Water cooling from petras
Ram- 1gbx4 Crucial Tracers ddr2 800
GPU- XFX GTX280 SLI
PSU- Rosewill 950 watt
Monitor- Dell 24"
Case- Thermaltake armor series


I fold for my sister and the cure. What do you fold for?
http://folding.stanford.edu/English/Download
Dainius is offline  
Old 08-08-2008, 07:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Help, new PC wont start!!!

i would say like dainius, it's likely that u do not have ur power switch connect properly.^some mobos, actually most do not have a mobo power switch.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 08-08-2008, 07:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
smashedpumpkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 392
Default Re: Help, new PC wont start!!!

Yeah I just put together my PC and had the same issue. Though I quickly new the problem. It was as Dainius stated. The Pwr switch was backwards. As soon as I turned it around it booted up great!
__________________
“Fortune favors the brave.”
smashedpumpkins is offline  
Old 08-08-2008, 07:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 245
Default Re: Help, new PC wont start!!!

yea true... but i know absolutely nothing about his mobo so I figured I would throw it out there lol
__________________
MB-EVGA 780i FTW
CPU-Q6600@3.6
Cooling- Custom Water cooling from petras
Ram- 1gbx4 Crucial Tracers ddr2 800
GPU- XFX GTX280 SLI
PSU- Rosewill 950 watt
Monitor- Dell 24"
Case- Thermaltake armor series


I fold for my sister and the cure. What do you fold for?
http://folding.stanford.edu/English/Download
Dainius is offline  
Old 08-09-2008, 05:23 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 276
Default Re: Help, new PC wont start!!!

Mobos in my sig, but ill try that, connectors are in the right place, but you say having them the other way round can fix the problem???

Ill give it a try!


And by switch on the mobo, what is there like a switch that can power up the PC manually from the mobo???
__________________
Thermaltake Tsunami Dream
Asus 560 DCII OC 1GB
Intel Q6600 @ 2.4
Asus P5KC aiLifestyle Mobo
4GB Corsair XMS2 PC2-6400
Gigabyte 720W PSU
Windows 7 Home Premium
Method is offline  
Old 08-09-2008, 05:32 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 276
Default Re: Help, new PC wont start!!!

Nothing

I think there in correct, I even followed the picture guide given by asus...

So what will this MOBO power up button look like?
__________________
Thermaltake Tsunami Dream
Asus 560 DCII OC 1GB
Intel Q6600 @ 2.4
Asus P5KC aiLifestyle Mobo
4GB Corsair XMS2 PC2-6400
Gigabyte 720W PSU
Windows 7 Home Premium
Method is offline  
Old 08-09-2008, 06:12 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 276
Default Re: Help, new PC wont start!!!

Still nothing, cant locate a switch on the mobo either. The power connectors for the switch are in the right place, according the picture supplied. The CPU, mobo and GFX all have there connectors plugged in. The LED on the mobo is lighting green to say it has power.

Brass spacers are there for every hole before screwing the mobo into them so there in there.

I dont know what to do, so fustrating and annoying.
__________________
Thermaltake Tsunami Dream
Asus 560 DCII OC 1GB
Intel Q6600 @ 2.4
Asus P5KC aiLifestyle Mobo
4GB Corsair XMS2 PC2-6400
Gigabyte 720W PSU
Windows 7 Home Premium
Method is offline  
Old 08-09-2008, 07:24 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 276
Default Re: Help, new PC wont start!!!

Really p*ssing me off. I just built it outside the case and still no power up. Its not fried or anything because the mobo always has its green LED light up when power is connected, and I built the whole thing wearing rubber gloves.

The wire from the on and reset button are in the correct place and have moved them around in different positions to make sure there in correctly. And still, nothing
__________________
Thermaltake Tsunami Dream
Asus 560 DCII OC 1GB
Intel Q6600 @ 2.4
Asus P5KC aiLifestyle Mobo
4GB Corsair XMS2 PC2-6400
Gigabyte 720W PSU
Windows 7 Home Premium
Method is offline  
Old 08-09-2008, 07:39 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 245
Default Re: Help, new PC wont start!!!

well if you have your mobo and cpu connectors from the pwr supply in correctly then I would be checking the PSU in another comp if possible to start the elimination process. Other than that I am at a loss except for the option of something may need to be RMA'ed. Good luck and keep us updated
__________________

__________________
MB-EVGA 780i FTW
CPU-Q6600@3.6
Cooling- Custom Water cooling from petras
Ram- 1gbx4 Crucial Tracers ddr2 800
GPU- XFX GTX280 SLI
PSU- Rosewill 950 watt
Monitor- Dell 24"
Case- Thermaltake armor series


I fold for my sister and the cure. What do you fold for?
http://folding.stanford.edu/English/Download
Dainius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
start button / task manager / cmd screen bigdan Microsoft Windows and Software 12 03-17-2009 10:47 PM
Power Surge - Start up problems HoB10 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 07-12-2008 06:28 PM
PC hard to start and freezing Mike9182 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 12-26-2007 07:35 AM
seagate 80gigs failing.. acuariano Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 27 08-27-2007 10:43 PM
Unable to start windows??? trose Microsoft Windows and Software 2 05-09-2007 09:54 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.