Help with new build!!! Urgent!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Goodonebales

In Runtime
Hey, guys, I just got done piecing together a system. It's my first build, with the Intel Conroe E6400, ASUS P5NSLI motherboard, 2x512 meg of Buffalo PC5300 667GHz RAM, and an eVGA GeForce 7900GS GPU. I'm having a major problem that I was hoping someone might be able to help with. The first time it booted up, it was a bit shaky, I didnt have all the wires in order, leading to fans hitting wires and slowing down. Finally got that figured out, and it turned out that after the computer was on, I needed to hit the reset button for some reason to get it going. Then, it was working fine for a long time, with this problem happening intermittently. It had stopped for a while, and now the problem is back, but unsolvable. It seems that everything is working, but the monitor says No Signal Found. Also, when I press the reset button now, it seems to make the video card's fan come on and stay on until I release the reset button. Any ideas?

I've double checked everything a few times. Now it's up and running again...I just don't get it. It seems like the video card is pulling too much power or something, but I mean, 600W should be enough....

Hi! You're gonna have to check and re-check cables and connections. What about the processor? Post back if you have any questions.

I'll check again...Im not sure what you mean, "What about the processor"? It seems like everything's connected the right way. Quick question though, the power supply wires that come off of the power supply, can multiple things be plugged into single slots? Or does each have to have its own lead coming directly from the power supply?