Help My Graphics Card!!!!!!!!!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-17-2005, 08:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3
Default Help My Graphics Card!!!!!!!!!!!

Hello.
I have been having a problem with my computer lately and i think the problem is with my graphics card. I have a Nvidia GeForce FX5500 PCI.

-Here are my computer Specs:
Windows Xp Home Edition NT 5.1 Service Pack 2
Intel Celeron 1.3 Ghz
Enough space to install my graphics card fully.

-Specs Needed on Box
1 PCI slot-ok
250 Watt Power Supply-ok
Intel Pentium 2- not really
64mb system RAM-ok
CD Drive-ok
10mb Disk Space ( 50mb for full install )-ok
Windows NT 4.0 with Service pack 5or6-hmm not sure

The problem:

Ok, now you know the computer specs. Every time I go into a computer game it works fine untill there is a big explosion of some sort and then it freezes aling with the sound that starts making a clicking noise. In a low graphic game called gunbound I seem to minimize frequently. I think it may also occur out of games too. When i was streaming a video online the computer just froze. But this time i had to restart the computer, for the in game freezes it happens frequently. Then the graphics of the game get messed up. The textures are white, pink, and all these other wierd colors.

I even tried changing my cpu fan cause it broke. ( a blade broke off cause of dust.) i even tried cleaning the computer.

I will appreciate all of your help.

-Thank You

P.S. It has been working perfecly fine untill now.
__________________

pavpav is offline  
Old 11-17-2005, 10:40 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 51
Default

hmm to be honest with u i had that with my old amd athlon and i had geforce 6600 gt and it still did that sometimes i would play counterstrike and something would exploe ot to many people it would kick me off with error message. They only way i can think of u fixing it is getting new cpu/motherboard. and pci viedeo cards are not the best. beside that(unless it is pci express).but check if your system can support the game.
__________________

kennny2004 is offline  
Old 11-17-2005, 10:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

if your motherboard has an AGP slot get a 6600GT.. i dont know why the motherboard would be the problem

Video card is the main problem and i bet your monitor sucks too lol so that ,too, could be further looked into..
Static_11 is offline  
Old 11-17-2005, 11:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Sounds like your graphics card ain't up to snuff, but that could be because your PSU ain't up to snuff.

As was said above, PCI ain't the greatest. But if you don't have an AGP slot, there's not a lot you can do.

Care to post what the make and model of your computer is, as well as the make and model of the card? I know it's a FX5500, but I need the maker's name and what they call it so I can look it up.

A total upgrade (read newer computer) would help it tremendously, but they don't grow on trees or anything like that. Let's see if we can do anything with what you have.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 11-17-2005, 07:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3
Default

okie well umm here goes.

i have a hp computer model520n
(not custom just bought)
I dont have a agp slot
The grapics card is from mad dog multimedia
thank you
pavpav is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 07:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3
Unhappy

umm hello please help me

also MY MONITOR SUCKS

its like 5-7 years old and yes of course it a a crt

and when i tried to do the computer the freezing thing happend in a game again so i exited out then when i pushed the start button twice......

the shadow was still there....

the computer kind of froze.

i got scared and i turned it off

lol
__________________

pavpav is offline  
Closed Thread

« Ram | Raid 0 »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.