Help with my friends Pc - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-11-2006, 11:32 AM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

hmm could be a power supply problem..he`ll just have to mix and match parts if he has any till he figures out the problem. Id think it was either: motherboard, PSU or graphics card.
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 11:37 AM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 829
Send a message via ICQ to Jam3s-Zer0 Send a message via AIM to Jam3s-Zer0 Send a message via Yahoo to Jam3s-Zer0
Default

thanks for all the help. i dont think he has any spare parts tho.
__________________

Jam3s-Zer0 is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 11:39 AM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

you said he had a upstairs pc could always try exchanging parts with that, might be a long boring process.

He could take it too a pc repair shop but they can rip you off. He should ask around if any friends have spare parts.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 11:43 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 602
Default

I wouldnt rule out a problem with the monitor also.

What was his sister doing on the computer before it died?
__________________
-AMD Phenon X2 555
-Gigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
-Western Digital Caviar RE WD2500YD 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache Serial ATA150
-Patriot Sector 5 DDR3-1333 (4GB)
-Rosewill 500W PSU
leonardmp92 is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 11:51 AM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 829
Send a message via ICQ to Jam3s-Zer0 Send a message via AIM to Jam3s-Zer0 Send a message via Yahoo to Jam3s-Zer0
Default

ye that is why i was asking here for him to get an idea of what might be wrong since pc repair shops can rip off.
he is actually not very experience with computers and changing parts and i wouldnt feel right taking apart his only working pc as i am not that confident incase anything happens.
Thanks
Jam3s-Zer0 is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 11:51 AM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

well first try a different monitor just incase .
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 11:52 AM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 829
Send a message via ICQ to Jam3s-Zer0 Send a message via AIM to Jam3s-Zer0 Send a message via Yahoo to Jam3s-Zer0
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by leonardmp92
I wouldnt rule out a problem with the monitor also.

What was his sister doing on the computer before it died?
Msn. Ill tell him to try it with his upstairs monitor now.
Thanks
Jam3s-Zer0 is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 11:53 AM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 829
Send a message via ICQ to Jam3s-Zer0 Send a message via AIM to Jam3s-Zer0 Send a message via Yahoo to Jam3s-Zer0
Default

Also i dont not think it would be monitor problem since of the psu switching off automaticly and the optical drive not working and not being able to turn it off using the on/off button.
Thanks
Jam3s-Zer0 is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 12:16 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 602
Default

Good point. It could be a problem with the monitor AND other stuff, including a bad HSF so the CPU is overheating and the shutting down the computer.

Maybe the graphcis card is overheating/GPU fan broken so the monitor is not working, and overheating the entire mobo so everything shuts down??? Not sure if that can actually happen though. Just wild guesses.
__________________
-AMD Phenon X2 555
-Gigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
-Western Digital Caviar RE WD2500YD 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache Serial ATA150
-Patriot Sector 5 DDR3-1333 (4GB)
-Rosewill 500W PSU
leonardmp92 is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 02:29 PM   #20 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

If the CPU or GPU overheats it normally just freezes on loading windows you`d still be able to get into the BIOS and see the screen.
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.