help! my computer is messed! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-31-2005, 10:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3
Unhappy help! my computer is messed!

hey guys. well my computer stopped working. It was on, everything was good, then i went to go watch t.v. for abit. when i go away from my computer for 5 minutes, the monitor automatically hibernates to save power, but when i went back, it wouldnt go back on at all.

so i restarted the computer, pressed F8, and tryed to go into safe mode. it got to the log in screen slowly, i got in, but then everything froze and i couldnt get in to do a virus check or anything. turned it off again, then back on, tryed safe mode again, and it wouldnt go past the log in. then again, wouldnt get to the log in at all.

now when i start it, it just shows the first black screen when a computer starts up, with all your ram info and all that, but just stays there, like this:



if i put in my system restore disk (1 of 3), it detects that, and goes into that disk. usually it gives me the recommended option, to delete C: drive and replace it with the default stuff the computer came with, and leave the D: drive(which has ALL of my stuff) alone. i've done it before, and then its perfect, just have to install programs and stuff again on the C: drive, not a problem.

This time though when it goes in, a box first pops up, saying there is no system drive. after i click that i get this screen:



so i click next, then it goes into the normal options, but the option to just delete the C: drive, its greyed out showing you cant choose it, and gives theres other options about partions and deleting the drives completely, like this:



I DO NOT want my D: drive gone, i have pictures from 4 years up until now and so much stuff on it, and if theres gone, i dont know what i'll do. i wish i backed that stuff up before.

someone please help!! I have no idea what to do, and no money to fix it I figured someone here would know maybe
__________________

Playa24_7 is offline  
Old 10-31-2005, 10:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

try clearing NVRAM via jumper. Also, use bare bones system (no cd, floppy, just the absolute minimum).
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 12:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 359
Default

your bios is saying you only have one drive (60gb) .. Do you have more than one physical drive.. or was it partitioned?
kiyotaka is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 01:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

I assume you have 1 drive with 2 partitions.If that is the case So in that case having all of your stuff on the d drive and the C: partition being toast you need to use some file recovery program to retrieve your files.If you can get your hands on a cd copy of Knoppix its a bootable operating system and a good tool for recovering your files.If in fact the C:drive is bad.Im not positive but it looks like it.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 11:36 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3
Default

^^^ where would I get a program like Knoppix? and can you just briefly explain the process on using it to recover files? i do have an external drive is that would help for such a thing
Playa24_7 is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 04:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 359
Default

have you reinstalled windows since the last time you had a "d" drive? if not it should be possible to recover
kiyotaka is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 04:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Anyone know any sites or anything that have that Knoppix program or some boot program, so I can put that on disc, and then try to recover some files? then I can at least recover some files before I reinstall windows again.

if i can just use a boot program to recover some files, instead of having to take the **** drive out, put in another computer, take stuff off, format the drive and all that, and hook it back up again, that would be awesome.

and also, can you briefly jsut tell me the steps to recover some files with a boot program? i do have an external drive if that helps

btw, it is just one hdd drive with 2 partions with the C: and D:
Playa24_7 is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 06:50 PM   #8 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

Knoppix is a live CD version of Linux. You can download it Here:
http://www.knoppix.net/get.php
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 07:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to dipique
Default

Yay knoppix

Dan
__________________

dipique is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.