help with mouse pauses - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-26-2005, 11:13 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2
Default help with mouse pauses

I recently did my first build and luckily it went ok without too many hitches. One issue has come up that I can't figure out so any advice would be greatly appreciated.

My usb intellimouse will occasionally become unresponsive. Interestingly, pushing a key on the keyboard will unfreeze it. Its almost like it lags and then when I push a key, the pointer ends up in a diferent spot. I installed the most recent intellimouse drivers from microsoft and according to the control panel, the battery level is good. This mouse is also from an old computer and until now, has not had any issues. Anyone have any thoughts on what the problem may be and how to fix it?

here's my setup:
microsoft wireless intellimouse explorer 2.0 with recent drivers
athlon 3700+
asus a8n-sli deluxe mobo 1013 bios
2 gigs ocz ddr400
wd 740 hard disk
nvidia 7800 gt
saitek eclipse keyboard
winxp professional
dell 24 inch lcd

thanks in advance
__________________

rocephin is offline  
Old 08-26-2005, 02:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

All I can tell you is I've had problems in the past with USB mice, and I know a few people that have had the same problem.

I got so fed up with it I just switched back to PS/2
__________________

__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 08-26-2005, 03:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 240
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BASSMASTER
All I can tell you is I've had problems in the past with USB mice, and I know a few people that have had the same problem.

I got so fed up with it I just switched back to PS/2
Check your power saving options for the USB port in the device manager!
Attached Images
File Type: png 4.png (45.1 KB, 842 views)
__________________
<a href=\"http://photobucket.com\" target=\"_blank\"><img src=\"http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y107/The51/photoshops/1.jpg\" border=\"0\" alt=\"Image hosting by Photobucket\"></a>
The51 is offline  
Old 08-26-2005, 03:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

does that need to be on or off?
joshd is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 08:36 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks for your replies, I took bassmaster's suggestion using my usb and ps/2 adapter and so far no pauses, so I think I won't mess with it as it works now. Nevertheless, thanks for your post 51 as I hope it'll help anyone else with a similar problem.
rocephin is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 09:14 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

my friend had the exact problem with that mouse. stupid Microsoft can't make anything right.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.