Help me for the love of God. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-09-2007, 12:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17
Default Help me for the love of God.

I have been struggling with my computer ever since I built the SOB. So far I have replaced every single part I originally bought for it except the CPU and Mobo. And still almost after 2 years I cannot even play the game I originally bought the effin thing for. I cannot play any game that was made after the year 2000 without it lagging, even if I make the min requirements x2. I was told my problem was my hard drive so I joyfully bought a new one and installed Rome: Total war only to find out it STILL lags to the point where I have no desire to play it. I also just increased my pagefile from 1.5 gigs to 4 gigs with no significant performance changes. If any of you can suggest anything that will allow me to play Rome Total war without it lagging and without everything turned to low I would REALLY appreciate it.

My computer specs are

Processor 1 (ID = 0)
Number of cores 1
Number of threads 2 (max 2)
Name Intel Pentium 4
Codename Prescott
Specification Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00GHz
Package Socket 478 mPGA (platform ID = 2h)
CPUID F.3.4
Extended CPUID F.3
Core Stepping D0
Technology 90 nm
Core Speed 3000.0 MHz (15.0 x 200.0 MHz)
Rated Bus speed 800.0 MHz
Stock frequency 3000 MHz
Instructions sets MMX, SSE, SSE2, SSE3
L1 Data cache 16 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size
Trace cache 12 Kuops, 8-way set associative
L2 cache 1024 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size
FID/VID Control no


Northbridge Intel i865P/PE/G/i848P rev. A2
Southbridge Intel 82801EB (ICH5) rev. 02
Memory Type DDR
Memory Size 1024 MBytes
Memory Frequency 200.0 MHz (1:1)
CAS# 2.5
RAS# to CAS# 4
RAS# Precharge 4
Cycle Time (tRAS) 8
Performance Mode enabled


General
Memory type DDR
Manufacturer (ID) GEIL (7F7F7F1300000000)
Size 512 MBytes
Max bandwidth PC3200 (200 MHz)
Part number CL25-4-4DDR 400
Manufacturing date Week 24/Year 05

Attributes
Number of banks 2
Data width 64 bits
Correction None
Registered no
Buffered no
EPP no

Timings table
Frequency (MHz) 166 200
CAS# 2.0 2.5
RAS# to CAS# delay 3 4
RAS# Precharge 3 4
TRAS 7 8



DIMM #2

General
Memory type DDR
Manufacturer (ID) GEIL (7F7F7F1300000000)
Size 512 MBytes
Max bandwidth PC3200 (200 MHz)
Part number CL25-4-4DDR 400
Manufacturing date Week 24/Year 05

Attributes
Number of banks 2
Data width 64 bits
Correction None
Registered no
Buffered no
EPP no

Timings table
Frequency (MHz) 166 200
CAS# 2.0 2.5
RAS# to CAS# delay 3 4
RAS# Precharge 3 4
TRAS 7 8

DMI BIOS
--------
vendor American Megatrends Inc.
version V3.8
date 07/07/2004


DMI System Information
----------------------
manufacturer MICRO-STAR INC.
product MS-6728
version 2.00
serial 00000000
UUID 00000000-00000000-00000000-00000000

---------------
Display Devices
---------------
Card name: RADEON X800 GTO
Manufacturer: ATI Technologies Inc.
Chip type: RADEON X800 GTO AGP (0x554F)
DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_554F&SUBSYS_1600174B&REV_00
Display Memory: 256.0 MB
Current Mode: 1024 x 768 (32 bit) (85Hz)
Monitor: Plug and Play Monitor
Monitor Max Res: 1600,1200
Driver Name: ati2dvag.dll
Driver Version: 6.14.0010.6652 (English)
DDI Version: 9 (or higher)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Driver Date/Size: 11/21/2006 22:25:23, 261120 bytes
WHQL Logo'd: n/a
WHQL Date Stamp: n/a
VDD: n/a
Mini VDD: ati2mtag.sys
Mini VDD Date: 11/21/2006 22:25:08, 2829824 bytes
Device Identifier: {D7B71EE2-160F-11CF-076D-0A36A1C2CB35}
Vendor ID: 0x1002
Device ID: 0x554F
SubSys ID: 0x1600174B
Revision ID: 0x0000
Revision ID: 0x0000
Video Accel:
Deinterlace Caps: n/a
Registry: OK
DDraw Status: Enabled
D3D Status: Enabled
AGP Status: Not Available
__________________

JacobM is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 12:53 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 203
Default

so basically you have a radeon x800, P4 3.00ghz with HT, and a mobo i cant identify through the information you gave (but that doesnt matter)

what you can do to test you machine:

check if the temperature is too high, you can do this by going into the BIOS and somewhere it will tell you the temperature of the CPU

you can also check the temperature of the graphics card

do you have enough power? what is your power supply?

thats all i can think of right now
__________________

__________________
Computer noob in training.
savagenator is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 12:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

Sounds like your video card could use a flash that may help some.
Despite the strong performance of this card for the relatively low amount of money they could be had for (roughly $165) ATI still felt the need for yet another midrange graphics SKU. Out of that need comes the X800 GTO. The card again uses surplus cores from bad yields of X850 XT PE and X800 XL chip wafers, but comes with 12 pipes enabled rather than the sixteen of the faster cards. This is where Sapphire comes in.

What Sapphire have done with their (unfortunately) limited edition X800 GTO2 cards, is ship them with only 12 pipes enabled, but 4 more ready to be unlocked. The BIOS of the card is easily flashable with a widely available replacement, which boosts the card to X800 XL status. Seeing as this card is built on the R480 (or X850 XT) core, overclocking it to the speeds of the full fledged card should not be a problem either, similar to what we experienced with the Powercolor X800 GTO last week
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 01:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17
Default

I have a 520 watt aspire. I think my sensors are bad or something, my CPU temp reads at 131 degrees fahrenheit. I have been reading about this mobo and alot of people have been reporting the same issues with bad readings.

My motherboard is an 865PE Neo2 P series
JacobM is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 07:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17
Default

anyone? Splatoid, how do I flash my graphics card?
JacobM is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.