Help me diagnose this one.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-11-2007, 12:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5
Default Help me diagnose this one..

I recently upgraded my parents computer. By adding a 1gig stick of RAM and a new video card

The current specs are:
2500+ Sempron
1280MB DDR400 RAM
ATI x1600
350w PSU
ECS 741GX-M (V1.0) Motherboard.

Now for my problem. The machine ran fine for one day. On the second day after the upgrade I ran into my major problem. It wouldn't start up. It would power on, but it wouldn't do a hardware check and I could hear the machine powering on twice. So I took out the new stick of RAM, and just left the old 256 stick in there and it did the same thing. It works sometimes, like when the computer has been off for a long time, it'll boot up fine(regardless of what RAM is in there). But when I restart, it won't boot up again. I'm getting really frustrated here. What could it be? Some friends suggested the power supply or the RAM. But I have no clue. Any ideas??

(Please note that I'm pretty much a novice when it comes to computer hardware)

TIA
__________________

iamraymond is offline  
Old 01-11-2007, 12:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Dexaroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 551
Send a message via AIM to Dexaroni Send a message via MSN to Dexaroni
Default

Sounds like there is a bad connection to your hard drive. Remove the molex connector and reinsert it, it should work a lot better.
__________________

__________________
Dexaroni is offline  
Old 01-11-2007, 12:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5
Default

Cool I'll check them when I get home. Any other suggestions?
iamraymond is offline  
Old 01-11-2007, 12:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Dexaroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 551
Send a message via AIM to Dexaroni Send a message via MSN to Dexaroni
Default

Not at the moment, I had that same thing happening with my computer, and it was because I had a bad connection to my HD.
__________________
Dexaroni is offline  
Old 01-11-2007, 01:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default

Wonder what your temps are?
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 01-11-2007, 01:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
hickfarm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 357
Send a message via AIM to hickfarm Send a message via MSN to hickfarm
Default PSU?

It could be the PSU also. My cousins pc did that also. it would start up and shut off. All it needed was a new psu.

That is just another thing to keep in mind.
__________________
AMD 64 x2 5000+ BE Zalman 9700
OCZ 700 watt Power Supply
2x1 gig OCZ 800mhz dual channel ram
Custom John Deere
DFI Infinity NF UlTRAII-M2 motherboard
20" Benq Monitor
320 gig Seagate hard drive, 1000gig internal Western Digital, 500gig MyBook
My John Deere Case==> http://hickfarm.com/blog/?cat=7
hickfarm is offline  
Old 01-11-2007, 08:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5
Default

The temperatures seem fine. When it is running (I am on it right now) it does not have any problems. It performs perfectly fine and does not lag at all. However when I restart it, it won't boot up until I wait for a couple hours and it'll start running fine again. I tried the following: switching RAM, removing the new video card, checking all the power cables and unplugging opitcal drives (to check if the HD and CPU were getting enough power). Nothing has worked so far.. please help! Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. My last resort would be bringing it to a technician, but that is a few towns away and will probably be expensive.
iamraymond is offline  
Old 01-11-2007, 11:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
hickfarm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 357
Send a message via AIM to hickfarm Send a message via MSN to hickfarm
Default

Just keep it on at all times. Never shut it off. LOL

That is really weird though. I don't know what the problem could be.
__________________
AMD 64 x2 5000+ BE Zalman 9700
OCZ 700 watt Power Supply
2x1 gig OCZ 800mhz dual channel ram
Custom John Deere
DFI Infinity NF UlTRAII-M2 motherboard
20" Benq Monitor
320 gig Seagate hard drive, 1000gig internal Western Digital, 500gig MyBook
My John Deere Case==> http://hickfarm.com/blog/?cat=7
hickfarm is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 07:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5
Default

I think I figured out what was wrong with it. The power supply cable. I switched that and its running fine now and boots up everytime. Thanks for the help guys
iamraymond is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 10:24 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
hickfarm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 357
Send a message via AIM to hickfarm Send a message via MSN to hickfarm
Default go figure

That is such a simple little thing. You should of checked that right away.

At least you got it working again.
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 x2 5000+ BE Zalman 9700
OCZ 700 watt Power Supply
2x1 gig OCZ 800mhz dual channel ram
Custom John Deere
DFI Infinity NF UlTRAII-M2 motherboard
20" Benq Monitor
320 gig Seagate hard drive, 1000gig internal Western Digital, 500gig MyBook
My John Deere Case==> http://hickfarm.com/blog/?cat=7
hickfarm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.