help me - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-04-2006, 11:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to taki23
Post help me

my friend and i just dismantle his computer for cleaning purpose, after cleaning we put all the components back to its place and enter computer BIOS and check the computer is working fine.

the problem is, when we try to exit the BIOS it suddenly shut down. even we let the computer on by installing a new OS after 15 min the the computer shut down.
i already check the CPU but still shut down.

pls help me.
__________________

taki23 is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 01:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

it could just be the power cable not in right...
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 09:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
helix2301's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Datacenter
Posts: 280
Send a message via AIM to helix2301
Default

the best thing to do is check power cables and connectors then check to see if all cards are seated properley. make sure all memory is installed properley
__________________
lipanitech
http://www.thetechnologygeek.org
HP Pro, A+, Network+, Linux+, Security+, MCTS
helix2301 is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 09:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 602
Default

Could it be a bad PSU?
__________________
-AMD Phenon X2 555
-Gigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
-Western Digital Caviar RE WD2500YD 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache Serial ATA150
-Patriot Sector 5 DDR3-1333 (4GB)
-Rosewill 500W PSU
leonardmp92 is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 04:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

If none of that works.. do you have any parts that you can swap for testing purpoase? and make sure none of your wires are grounded to the case
jseber1982 is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 12:53 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to taki23
Unhappy it's still happen

thanks for your suggestion but the problem are still there. is there any suggestion? is his motherboard already broken or just his PSU?
taki23 is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 02:48 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 602
Default

Could the HSF be disfunctional so the bios is shutting down the computer before it overheats?
__________________

__________________
-AMD Phenon X2 555
-Gigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
-Western Digital Caviar RE WD2500YD 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache Serial ATA150
-Patriot Sector 5 DDR3-1333 (4GB)
-Rosewill 500W PSU
leonardmp92 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.