help with laptop shutting off - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-20-2006, 12:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,304
Send a message via AIM to NewCents05
Default help with laptop shutting off

every time i connect my camcorder to my laptop itll record the video for a bit then half way thru itll just turn off. i connect the camcorder thru an ieee 1394 cable. im not sure why its doing that but its getting kinda annoying.
__________________

NewCents05 is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 03:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default

make sure it's not getting too hot...
__________________

__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 03:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,304
Send a message via AIM to NewCents05
Default

its tilted up and sitting on an antec note book cooler i dunno what more i can do.

but im starting to think that might be the case.
NewCents05 is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 03:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

What are your system temps upon shutdown?
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 03:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,304
Send a message via AIM to NewCents05
Default

doesnt really work on a laptop but my hd usually maintains a temp around 100-110 and i checked and it shuts down around then. does the cpu really work that much harder to record a video? it shuts down only when im trying to record a video with moviemaker
NewCents05 is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 03:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Search google on how disable automatic restart. It might be reveiving error's and rebooting. Once complete, do it again and if it bluescreens, post the error. If it keeps doing the same thing then we know its something different.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 03:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,304
Send a message via AIM to NewCents05
Default

yea it doesnt restart. its just like if you took the battery out of the laptop so theres really no blue screen or anything.

and i already have automatic restart disabled
__________________

NewCents05 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.