help with installing my P6N SLI FI mobo - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-11-2007, 11:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 36
Default help with installing my P6N SLI FI mobo

I just bought basically a new setup, i got...

Core 2 Duo 2.0 GHz processor
EVGA 8800GTS video card
2GB Patriot DDR2 800 RAM
and a MSI P6N SLI FI Motherboard

my problem is my monitor is receiving no signal from the Video card. my mobo doesn't have a video output for some reason, just a parallel port, so i plugged my monitor into the Video card, but no signal. i hear the computer start up, all the fans are running, all the lights are lit up, i just can't see whats going on. any ideas? are there any possible connection problems. this was my first time hooking up a motherboard, could i have mixed up any wires to make this happen?
__________________

rhode2nowere is offline  
Old 08-12-2007, 12:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: help with installing my P6N SLI FI mobo

Connected your CPU 8-pin power connector? Did you seat your VGA properly?
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-12-2007, 12:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 36
Default Re: help with installing my P6N SLI FI mobo

yes. well, i took off this clip over it, and used an 8 pin. my power supply had an adapter on it so it could work in my old MoBo. i took that off and used the 8 pin.

i just put the adapter back on and put it in place, no different result. still the same thing.
rhode2nowere is offline  
Old 08-12-2007, 12:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: help with installing my P6N SLI FI mobo

No, if it's 8-pin, you're suppose to connect all 8-pins. It needs it to work to it's full potential. Anyways, did you connect the 6-pin power connector to the VGA?
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-12-2007, 12:32 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 36
Default Re: help with installing my P6N SLI FI mobo

yup, the 6 pin connector is in the Videocard too. used both the adapter for that two (the 2 4 pin connectors into the 6 pin) and the regular 6 pin from my power supply. both still power the video card just fine. the fan is spinning. i have the adapter off now.

i have all the Power LED pins and HDD LEDs in, power and reset switch, and speaker pin put in, the ATX 24 pin in right, the IDE connectors are in, a SATA drive is in, i don't have a floppy to put in. i don't have anything in the Serial port connector (JCOM1) or the front USB connectors, even though i have USBs on my case. the videocard is in the first PCIx slot, and the memory is in the first of each color. all fans are hooked up and work.
rhode2nowere is offline  
Old 08-12-2007, 12:45 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: help with installing my P6N SLI FI mobo

Take out your GTS and insert it back in.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-12-2007, 12:59 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 36
Default Re: help with installing my P6N SLI FI mobo

nope, still nothing.
rhode2nowere is offline  
Old 08-12-2007, 01:10 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: help with installing my P6N SLI FI mobo

Checked the DVI port to see if the cables were plugged in properly? Check both DVI ports.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-12-2007, 01:23 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 36
Default Re: help with installing my P6N SLI FI mobo

i did that too. EVGA gave me 2 VGA => DVI adapters. i used them both in both ports. neither give a signal.
rhode2nowere is offline  
Old 08-12-2007, 01:27 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: help with installing my P6N SLI FI mobo

Wow. This just seems to be your monitor. I don't really know what is wrong with your monitor.. everything I have suggested you to do was through personal experienced. Sorry!
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing AC Freezer 7 and MOBO p35-ds3r Bankfishin New Systems | Building and Buying 11 08-07-2007 10:57 AM
static and my mobo funkywaggnelz New Systems | Building and Buying 10 06-12-2007 03:03 PM
Plugging wires in the mobo power panel incorrectly piggysmile Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-25-2007 09:17 PM
cannot install vista.. got a dell mobo siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-30-2007 06:05 PM
MoBo question xcoreRelentless New Systems | Building and Buying 1 04-07-2007 10:55 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.