Help Help Help!!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-07-2009, 07:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 116
Default Help Help Help!!!!

I messed up big time!!!!!......
One of my systems:
P4 1.6 GHz
40 GB HHD
17" Monitor
intel D850MV mobo
Nvidia FX5500

The prob is with the RAM....
Previously Ive bin using 64MB X2 sticks making a total of 128 MB Ram
Recently I bought a pair of sticks ie 256MB X 2 = 512MB total
The board has 4 slots. The first two were populated and the rest of the two I filled in about an hour ago. The comp worked fine for the first 15-20 min or so but suddenly restarted. Then it happened again. Now the computer starts but it doesnt give out any display. The monitor goes on standby when the computer is turned on. I tried changing the Ram the removed the new pieces then shut down the comp and removed the HDD and then re attached it But no luck!!!!!!

What do I do Now!!!!
__________________

uneeb83 is offline  
Old 07-07-2009, 08:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: Help Help Help!!!!

Quote:
I tried changing the Ram the removed the new pieces then shut down the comp
Wait, are you saying you changed the RAM while the computer was still on?
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 07-07-2009, 08:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Help Help Help!!!!

Reset cmos.
reseat ram.

what ram did you have installed?
what ram did you add?

Quote:
RDRAM Memory Configuration
When installing memory, note the following:

* The four RIMM sockets are grouped into two banks:
o Bank 0 (labeled on the board as RIMM1 and RIMM2)
o Bank 1 (labeled on the board as RIMM3 and RIMM4)
* Bank 0 must be populated first, ensuring that the RDRAM installed in RIMM1 and RIMM2 is identical in speed, size, and density. For example, the minimum system configuration would use two 64 MB RIMM modules of PC600 or PC800 RDRAM.
* If the desired memory configuration has been achieved by populating Bank 0, then Bank 1 should be filled with two Continuity RIMMs.
* If memory is to be installed in Bank 1, the RIMM modules installed in RIMM3 and RIMM4 must be identical in size and density to each other and match the speed of the RIMM modules in Bank 0. The RIMM modules do not, however, need to match those in Bank 0 in size and density. For example, if Bank 0 has two 128 MB RIMMs of PC800 RDRAM, Bank 1 would require PC800 RDRAM also; however, any other supported RIMM modules such as 64 MB or 192 MB could be used.
* If ECC functionality is required, all installed RIMM modules must be ECC compliant.

The following table gives examples of RDRAM component density for various RIMM modules. Component density (counts) can be identified on the RIMM label.
Intel® Desktop Board D850MV - Tested memory
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 07-07-2009, 09:26 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 116
Default

I shut down the PC first of course.
The first time I installed the RAM properly cuz the PC worked fine for 20 min. But then Shut down!!!....And how do u reset the CMOS??

I took the PC apart and then took out all 4 RIMMs and then reconnected every thing including the RAM also I took out that little round 3V battery and after 5 min placed it back. I put the BIOS in recovery mode using the jumpers but then put it to normal again......Stilll no display!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Updates!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.........I read the article and remover the two new 256 X2 RIMMs.....replaced it with those continuity thingeees and guess what......The displays back on......Yeh!!!!....But now the system doesnt boot and Says boot Failure System Halted
uneeb83 is offline  
Old 07-07-2009, 09:47 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Help Help Help!!!!

Moving to Hardware Troubleshooting Section (and being nice about not deleting it )

That means you have no OS on your primary drive, or its not detecting that drive with teh OS on it, so either its dying or its starting to die or it got unplugged
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-07-2009, 10:17 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 116
Default

Ok OK........I restarted the PC and then it said that CMOS battery Low.....I set the time and date on the CMOS and then rebooted this time it took me to the OS choice menu But whenever the OS was starting the comp restarted automatically.....Happened about a dozen times before I decided to Reinstall The OS....now the Os is being reinstalled.....But I still dun know what to do with the Upgrade of the RAM!

Major disaster!!!!!!!!!!!!!...I tried to c if the newer RAM modules work again and now Im back at square 1........The comp wont display the screen and even when I tried the My old 2 RAM modules only!!!!!!!!!!!!1........Im Screwed.........Can anyone point out whats going on!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
uneeb83 is offline  
Old 07-07-2009, 12:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: Help Help Help!!!!

Is the new ram supported by your system?
__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 07-07-2009, 02:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Help Help Help!!!!

I will ask again.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hefemeister View Post
what ram did you have installed?
what ram did you add?
Give us a link to the new ram you purchased.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 07-07-2009, 05:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 89
Default Re: Help Help Help!!!!

Yes knowing what kind of ram you purchased will help us determine if it's compatable with your system. Also if you have a 'boot failure system halted' error you could just try to 'fix boot' with your windows CD. Sometimes when a computer crashes the OS is still fine, just the boot files in on your hard drive become corrupted.
__________________

Patiszerg is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.