Help Fast!! Floppy Trouble - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-24-2005, 07:59 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 456
Default RE

Ok.. I just turned the computer off and took the side door and were it goes into the computer. I unhooked all the wires going to the floppy drive and booted it back up and i still got that error. I turned it off again and put the cables back into their spots and pushed firmly.. Is there a way i can totally just turn this drive off and make the error go away.. We dont really use the floppy drive n e wayz!

Thanks
__________________

cyclones is offline  
Old 10-24-2005, 08:31 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

Your probably only get that error because the Floppy ribbon cable is plugged in upside down, or maybe you missed a pin....

but yea you can disable it if you wont, just go into bios, and somewere in there, it lets you specify what kind of floppy you have, or to just diable it, witch will turn off that message.
__________________

jolancer is offline  
Old 10-24-2005, 08:45 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 456
Default

Ok Thanks... I never ever touched the ribbon's b4... I just blew some air in there and it stopped working.
__________________

cyclones is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.