Help! Fast! - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-21-2014, 10:57 PM   #21 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default Re: Help! Fast!

It won't really make a difference. If it were blowing air into the intake vents then it might help.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2014, 10:58 PM   #22 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 33
Default Re: Help! Fast!

Ah, so even if its slightly blowing cool air into the outake air vents it wont "clog" up the vent persay? It should im guessing, just want to make sure!
__________________

Apollo123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2014, 11:23 PM   #23 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Help! Fast!

Quote:
Originally Posted by -RockMan- View Post
No it cannot handle that not on the laptop itself.
Your acer is a 15.6 inch screen the most you'll get is: 1366*768.
OP is talking about through the external monitor, not on the laptop's display.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apollo123 View Post
Okay, so here is the setup! Tell me if this is suitable!

Yes that should be fine. That's pretty much exactly what I did with my old laptop to keep it cool while gaming.

Make sure you blow out your vents with canned air still so that the vent aren't clogged up with dust.

Are the temps any better with the fan blowing cool air underneath the laptop, or are they the same?
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2014, 11:30 PM   #24 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 33
Default Re: Help! Fast!

So I took out the monitor and just looked at my temps with and without the monitor while playing wow and they were both the same temperature... which was odd because why was when the monitor was running my laptop was crashing but it had the same temperature as just my laptop running and my laptop did not crash... but yes. there seems to be a temp improvement!
Apollo123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2014, 11:33 PM   #25 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Help! Fast!

So what are your temps now?

You can post a screenshot of HWMonitor if you want, if that's easier.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2014, 11:43 PM   #26 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 33
Default Re: Help! Fast!

They are as followed:

AMD A10-4600M: Temp: Package: 116 C (93 C being the min, 128 C being the max)
(I think this one might be bugged or something, thats 250 F and thats ridiculously hot)

AMD Radeon HD 7660G: Temp: 64 C (43 C being min, 68 C being max)

Now the weird thing is, these are the SAME temps even when im NOT running the monitor...
Apollo123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2014, 12:04 AM   #27 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Help! Fast!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apollo123 View Post
They are as followed:

AMD A10-4600M: Temp: Package: 116 C (93 C being the min, 128 C being the max)
(I think this one might be bugged or something, thats 250 F and thats ridiculously hot)

AMD Radeon HD 7660G: Temp: 64 C (43 C being min, 68 C being max)

Now the weird thing is, these are the SAME temps even when im NOT running the monitor...
@Carnage I already knew what he meant he did question if that current resolution would work on the laptop itself.
Please look at what hes questioning more closely.

Apollo just to be sure that laptop is giving you the right tempatures.
Restart the laptop and go into your bios,check system health and look at the tempature for the apu/aka cpu.

Tell us what that says, any amd chip hitting 85 degrees would shut down to prevent itself from overheating and dying.
Also when you get back to your windows desktop tell us which catalyst driver version you have installed.

I have a feeling that maybe the culprit but I need to look at the driver version first online.
-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2014, 12:12 AM   #28 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Help! Fast!

Quote:
Originally Posted by -RockMan- View Post
@Carnage I already knew what he meant he did question if that current resolution would work on the laptop itself.
Please look at what hes questioning more closely.
The way you worded your response made it sound like you didn't read the thread that he was using an external monitor.

Quote:
Apollo just to be sure that laptop is giving you the right tempatures.
Restart the laptop and go into your bios,check system health and look at the tempature for the apu/aka cpu.
Agreed - double check with BIOS and see if it has temp sensor info there.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2014, 12:23 AM   #29 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 33
Default Re: Help! Fast!

Doing all the above as we speak! Stay with me!
Apollo123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2014, 12:30 AM   #30 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 33
Default Re: Help! Fast!

What is Bios? Sorry! I dont know that much about tech.
__________________

Apollo123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Big problem Computer is running fast then slow then fast SlashDash Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 12-22-2012 06:04 PM
Fast 5 (aka The Fast And The Furious 5) Harper Multimedia 7 07-22-2011 11:29 AM
Computer running fast then slow then fast FailAtComputer Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 07-14-2011 08:39 AM
Need Money Fast... Fast Sale!! Asap NosBoost300 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 1 03-27-2007 03:22 AM
need fast help! mac_mogul Microsoft Windows and Software 3 02-04-2004 12:45 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.