Help! Cpu Overheat!!!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2007, 04:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Unhappy Help! Cpu Overheat!!!!!

My CPU is overheating even after an RMA'd mobo and new CPU fan.
Had mobo problems, kept crashing but hasn't done it so far...

Overheated really bad before new mobo, temps in the 70's and above but idles now at 55, max about 68...any ideas?

680i mobo
8800 GTX
E6600 2.4gh
freezer 7 pro cpu fan
__________________

darkSlDE is offline  
Old 01-29-2007, 05:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 26
Default

heatsink in etc.?

fans working? ie. can you see them moving?
__________________

Lokolo is offline  
Old 01-29-2007, 06:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Default

Yes, fans are working, heatsink is good along w/thermal paste
darkSlDE is offline  
Old 01-29-2007, 09:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

have you installed heatsinks many times before? there is a certain art to it so if you haven't done it that many times you may want to double check your work, if you're sure of it then i guess it's time to look at other possibilities. i'm thinking perhaps it's a dodgy readout on this particular motherboard model.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 01-29-2007, 10:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Default

Yeah, i checked it but don't think its a problem, pc seems to be working fine so far, thinking maybe it just runs hot, read threads w/similar problems...
darkSlDE is offline  
Old 01-30-2007, 11:18 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 11
Default

try ot use other heatsinks or other cooling system!!! did u use thermal paste???did u use fan with speed adjust??
when u use the stock stuff the temp is about 70c!!!
i used an AC FreezerPro7 and the temp go down to 45c!!!try it man!!
n7710m is offline  
Old 01-30-2007, 04:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 47
Default

he is using freezerpro7
__________________

ninjamonkey is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.