Help! Blank Screen After POST

Status
Not open for further replies.

LorenM

Beta member
So this is my first build in almost ten years and all things considered it went better than I expected. Here's the setup

Mobo Asus Maximus Formula II
CPU Intel Core2 Quad Q9550 2.83ghz
2GB OCZ Reaper memory
ATI HD4850 from Asus
150GB WD Velociraptor HLFS
200GB Seagate Barracuda (from my old PC)
Rosewill 850W PSU
Asus DVD/CD Burner
Zalman 9700 heatsink/fan

My problem is after POST the screen just goes black, no DOS prompt or anything. I disabled the WD HDD and was able to boot up into my old Windows XP. So I'm guessing the problem lies with the WD HDD, but in windows I can access the drive and I even reformatted just in case there was some old data on there. Any Ideas? Any way for me to install Windows Xp Pro x64 onto the drive via my old drive? I would love to run my OS and games from the Raptor and keep my old HDD as a backup storage drive.

Many thanks in advance,
Loren

If I understand you correctly. You built a new computer and tried to boot Windows off of an old drive from your previous computer? I'm not too clear on what your exact problem is.

You need to perform what's called a repair install if you're trying to boot from an older hard drive. Windows needs to build a registry of your new hardware.

Sorry for the confusion. I built a new computer and received no display after POST. Tried booting from the new Raptor HDD, nothing. Tried booting from CD with new Win XP Pro and still nothing. In an act of desperation I tried my old HDD from my previous computer and viola, I was able to boot into Win XP Media Center. I tried to format the new Raptor drive in Disk Manager and reboot but it didn't help. Folks at another forum suggested updating the BIOS or changing my SATA controllers but I have no clue how to go about that. Any suggestions are welcome and please remember I'm a Noob.

Thanks for your help,
Loren