Help !! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-23-2006, 09:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Default Help !!

Hi .. Has anyone seen this before.. Is my video card about to die ??

!


It started doing it yesterday so I opend the pc up and hoovered some dust out of it and checked the vid card was sat in its slot ok etc.. Then it never did it again .. But when i rebooted the pc today it started doing it again .. SO i changed monitors .. to no avail... I dont see it at the moment but I know its gonna come back soon.. it starts flickering all sorts of colours ... Arggghhh !!
__________________

m3l0dic is offline  
Old 02-23-2006, 10:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

tried updating to the latest video drivers ?? what temp is your graphics card running at ??
__________________

__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 02-23-2006, 10:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Default

yeah i updated to the latest catalyst drivers about a week ago.. Im not sure what temp its running at ..is there a utillity that i should get ?
m3l0dic is offline  
Old 02-23-2006, 11:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 449
Send a message via AIM to homerj14
Default

maybe wrong set of drivers?
__________________
My BF2 account Homerj14
Support our troops...
AIM-House300zx
homerj14 is offline  
Old 02-23-2006, 11:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

what video card oand mb are you running?
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 02-25-2006, 09:39 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Default

My Video Card is a Radeon 9800 Pro ( 128mb )

My motherboard is a

Manufacturer : Dell Computer Corp.
Model : 0G0728 Rev. Not Available
CPU Slot/Socket Type : mPGA-478
Chipset Vendor : Intel i875P Rev. A2
Bios Manufacturer : Dell Computer Corporation
Bios Version : A07


m3l0dic is offline  
Old 02-25-2006, 10:29 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

Try rolling your drivers back to last used drivers to see if it clears this up.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 02-25-2006, 10:56 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Default

I haev experimented with rolling back my video card drivers and I even tried system restore. A few times ive rebooted and once windows has finished loading all services etc it then froze up a few times.. Maybe my hard drive is dying too ???!
m3l0dic is offline  
Old 02-25-2006, 10:56 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

you say it starts flickering? could you describe the flickering in more detail please.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-25-2006, 11:05 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Ok .. well When i power up the pc. to the Dell splash screen.. Not , everytime but I am seeing what look like graphical glitches ..Sometimes different coloured random symbols and alphanumeric stuff..Then upon loading windows.. Sometimes everything seems to be ok .. Then .those 4 strips will appear down the screen . flickering quite eratically.. often the patterns inside the stripes down the screen are changing too.. When I then move an open App or window around the desktop it is leaving a corrupt mess all over the desktop ... At the moment the stripes are just scrolling down my desktop .. then flickering ev now and again. http://img155.imageshack.us/img155/1739/mess9pa.jpg there is an image of my desktop when i click on start
__________________

m3l0dic is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.