Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-23-2005, 04:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 376
Default Help

I have a puter that has a 80gb WD H.D. I just bought a 160gb seagate H.D. to replace it. I tryed hooking up the new 160gb drive as a slave and the origanal as master so I could transfer all the data onto the new one, but the puter is not recognizing the drive. I go into windows on My Computer and only see my main 80gb drive. I tried to unhook the 80gb drive and just format the new 160gb and it wont read it. I then downloaded Seagate DiskWizard and tryed to see if that would work, but it didnt. I went into bios to see if I could have it auto detect the drive...but wont. It shows the model # in bios, but wont detect. The 80gb hard drive that has been in it uses the IDE ata flat ribbon cable. I dont know the type of motherboard so I dont know what it is...ATA 100, ATA 133. So the new drive I bought I got it as a ATA 100 figuring it wold work. I just figured it would be compatible, its the same cable hook up...Does it matter? And I noticed when i ran the DiskWizard it said there was no SCSi drive detected. WHat is SCSI? Is that my problem? Im lost on this one. Can anyone help?
__________________

__________________


CPU - Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz
Mobo - ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GPU - EVGA 02G-P4-3660-KR GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB
RAM - G.SKILL 8GB DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
H.D. - Corsair Force Series GT 120GB SATA III (SSD)
PSU - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W ATX12V
Case - COOLER MASTER Storm Scout
Monitor - Dual Hanns-G HW191D 19" Flat Panel
OS - Windows 7 Home 64 bit
Mandingo is offline  
Old 11-23-2005, 05:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 376
Default

Ok, I tried hooking it up as master again and just put windows xp in and booted it. A strange beeping noise started and a screen came up that said///!!!WARNING!!! Disk boot sector is to be modified. Type "Y" to accept, any key to abort. WHat the heck is that?
__________________

__________________


CPU - Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz
Mobo - ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GPU - EVGA 02G-P4-3660-KR GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB
RAM - G.SKILL 8GB DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
H.D. - Corsair Force Series GT 120GB SATA III (SSD)
PSU - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W ATX12V
Case - COOLER MASTER Storm Scout
Monitor - Dual Hanns-G HW191D 19" Flat Panel
OS - Windows 7 Home 64 bit
Mandingo is offline  
Old 11-25-2005, 12:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

So did you unhook the main hard drive when you did this?Have you tried using a win 98 boot disk and run fdisk with just that new drive in there and then create an active partition first and then try to format...
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.