help!!!!!!!!!! =[ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-10-2009, 10:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default help!!!!!!!!!! =[

i just got the new cpu motherboard and ram and installled it into my pc but befor i installed it all in

i did this

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
You can use SYSPREP to prepare your hard drive for transfer and not have to reinstall anything. Use SYSPREP just before you are going to move your stuff over to its new home.

To use the GUI (graphical user interface), copy and paste"c:\windows\system32\sysprep\sysprep.exe" in the Start Search box. You should get something like this:



Change the Shutdown Option to Shutdown so it doesn't reboot on you. Once it shuts down, it is ready to move. When you boot it up in the new hardware, Vista will act like it has just been started up in your computer for the first time. Once you are booted you will have to install the drivers for your new hardware.
my computer boots up and comes up with some things i can go into bios and some other one

everytime i press start windows normal it goes to the load bar but not all the way you can just about see it and then my computer restarts

help please =[

*EDIT*
comp specs

intel pentium dual-core e5200 @ 2.5GHz
OCZ 2GB ram high performance (dual channel kit)
ASRock g41m-le mobo
150GB hdd
windows vista home
__________________

__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline  
Old 06-10-2009, 03:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: help!!!!!!!!!! =[

I don't understand why you did this? I don't know the context with which it was suggested since you just have that one post, but when you have a new motherboard and CPU you pretty much have to do a fresh installation of windows due to driver conflicts and Windows will think this is a new computer. Windows will not work because of licensing issues so it is always best to do a fresh install.
__________________

__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 06-10-2009, 03:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: help!!!!!!!!!! =[

Because in another thread, abunch of people said t could be done..

In one of his 600 threads, he said he doesn't have his disk or key, for the vista on the old sytem he upgraded.

Edit

Gigantic sad face.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 06-10-2009, 03:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: help!!!!!!!!!! =[

Ah I see. Does anyone have any successful attempts of doing such a thing?
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 06-10-2009, 04:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: help!!!!!!!!!! =[

Put the drive back in the original configuration and redo the SYSPREP, as it sounds like you didn't complete it.

As an explanation, SYSPREP removes the hardware "fingerprint" from the Windows installation, uninstalling all the drivers and such. It leaves the installation unassociated with any specific computer hardware.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 06-10-2009, 04:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: help!!!!!!!!!! =[

Thanks Trotter. I will have to remember this software in the future.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 06-10-2009, 04:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: help!!!!!!!!!! =[

well its to darn late now

i just got a copy of xp and have that on

so i lost all my stuff on my hdd + vista :[

i couldnt even get into safe mode
__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline  
Old 06-10-2009, 06:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: help!!!!!!!!!! =[

Quote:
Originally Posted by surgeVel View Post
Ah I see. Does anyone have any successful attempts of doing such a thing?
Back in the windows 98 days, it was not big deal. Now days, I have had little success here and there. However first few boots afterwards, I am spending about 30 minute redecting hardware.
Really, you better off reinstalling from scratch.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 06-10-2009, 07:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: help!!!!!!!!!! =[

Quote:
Originally Posted by surgeVel View Post
Thanks Trotter. I will have to remember this software in the future.
It's not really extra software though...its built in to Windows. Just clarifying that.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 06-10-2009, 07:36 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: help!!!!!!!!!! =[

that thing buggerd my hdd up that i tryed doing and it didnt work i wanted to KEEP vista and just to uninstall the mobo drivers but THAT didnt work becuse what you said FAILED

i know have win xp =[ and it sucks
__________________

__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.