Help!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-12-2009, 03:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 47
Default Help!!!

So I just put together my new computer, and I think I did everything right, but I don't get anything on my monitor. The CPU cooler fan spins, the case fans spin, the GPU fans spin, even the DVD burner will open and close. Idk what's going on but I want to start using this thing soon!! Any ideas on what's going wrong?!!?
__________________

azstars is offline  
Old 03-12-2009, 04:10 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 19
Default Re: Help!!!

Wrong place to post this.

Anyways, are you sure you have everything plugged in correctly?
Is the video card pushed in far enough? (Double check anyways)
Are the motherboard lights on? Does it beep at all?
__________________

MTFBWY is offline  
Old 03-12-2009, 04:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: Help!!!

Does the gpu have a pci-e connector that needs to be plugged in?
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 03-12-2009, 05:26 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: Help!!!

Check and triple check that all plugs are in their correct places, and yeh check you GPU has all the power connectors it needs.

What are your system specs, and your psu specs?
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 03-12-2009, 10:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 47
Default Re: Help!!!

Sorry for the wrong place, my bad on that one!

I haven't had time to get back to work on it yet, but I'm going to later today so I will be sure to check the connections and everything and post back.

My specs are:
Gigabyte EX58-UD5 Mobo
Core i7 920 2.66GHz
XFX GTX 285
6GB OCZ Gold DDR3 at 1600Mhz
LG DVD Burner
1TB WD HDD

My PSU specs:
Corsair TX750
azstars is offline  
Old 03-12-2009, 10:58 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: Help!!!

Wow you got like the same build as me:
Gtx 285 (eVGA though)
i7 920 2.66 ghz
6 GB 1600 MHz ram
1 TB WD HDD
750W psu

Anyway, make sure that your dvi connector is plugged into the card in the slot nearest your mobo, as there are two slots on your gpu. Consult your mobo manual to make sure the ram is in the correct slots. It also might help if your gpu is in the primary pci-e slot, the one closest to the cpu. If you check on all that and make sure everything is connected to the psu, you should have this working. Don't forget there are two connectors for the mobo, and two on the gpu. Your computer will turn on if you only have the primary power connector in the motherboard, but it isn't going to work right.
Druid is offline  
Old 03-12-2009, 11:16 AM   #7 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Help!!!

moved to appropriate area.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 03-12-2009, 08:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 47
Default Re: Help!!!

Ok so I of that problem fixed, I forgot my 12V rail lol, I didn't plug in the 8-pin connector. But now I've realized my side panel fan won't work! My case is the xclio a380 with the 2 25cm fans, and the side fan has a 4 pin power connector (that's plugged in) and another thing that says warning connect to vr controller only! What does this mean and what should I connect it to?

EDIT: By the way, i'm installing vista and everythig with the side off. Is this a dangerous idea?I'm not wanting anything to overheat.
azstars is offline  
Old 03-12-2009, 08:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default Re: Help!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by azstars View Post
Ok so I of that problem fixed, I forgot my 12V rail lol, I didn't plug in the 8-pin connector. But now I've realized my side panel fan won't work! My case is the xclio a380 with the 2 25cm fans, and the side fan has a 4 pin power connector (that's plugged in) and another thing that says warning connect to vr controller only! What does this mean and what should I connect it to?

EDIT: By the way, i'm installing vista and everythig with the side off. Is this a dangerous idea?I'm not wanting anything to overheat.
It's a VR Fan Speed Controller. Here Noise Isolator (RH-35) VR Fan Speed Controller - Overclockers Club
They mount in the 5.25 bays.

Having the side panels off isn't dangerous as long as you are careful not to touch any moving parts or discharge static into any of the internals. You'll be fine.

Good Luck.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 03-13-2009, 01:15 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 47
Default Re: Help!!!

Alright thank you! I finally have it all up and running and it seems to be going smoothly.
__________________

azstars is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.