Hello all! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-30-2006, 11:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 18
Default Hello all!

Hey Everyone,

Ok... I have a computer here that is a P-3 system with 256 and a 80gig HD and external Video.. The mother board is a Abit BX133

Here is my issue..

It was runing just fine with Windows 98 but it needed a re-format, so I decided to put Windows XP Service pack 2 on it. I proceded to format it as normal, everything went fine... Than upon boot up to windows install screen it "system haulted"

I rebooted many times... nothing changed.. I noticed the LED light is RED... I don't know if that means anything. I don't know if it was RED when it was working.

Now the wierd thing now, is it won't boot from a CD... I tried swaping CD drives, HD, and taking out the sound card and Eithernet Card... and nothing changed.

Thank you,

Frank
__________________

frankd14321 is offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 11:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

Ok lets start over. Put your fastest cd drive in and put it on it's own cable on the secondary IDE channel, and set the jumpers on it to master. Now set the jumpers on your hdd to master and put it on the Primary ide cable (blue connector on mobo) both are by them self's on the cable. Now go into your bios and make sure you are set to boot from cdrom first. With a real xp cd boot from it and delete all the partitions and format quick (ntfs) the whole hdd and install xp to the new partition.

If after that you still can't boot from cd then clear your cmos and/or pull the mobo battery.
__________________

__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 11:19 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 18
Default

Still a no go... It changed nothing, and I reset the cmos like you said if all elts failed.. and nothing... Basically when it gets to the black screen right before it will go to the xp splash screen, normally computers say to boot from CD press any key... well this skips that step... and I changed the bios of course and everything.
frankd14321 is offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 11:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

Is this a legit XP cd? try another boot cd and see if it will boot.
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 11:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 18
Default

Yes it's an offical XP service pack 2 CD with unlimted use... I work for a school. haven't had a problem like this before.

I tryed a official windows 98 cd also and nothing.
frankd14321 is offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 11:27 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 18
Default

And it's skipping the boot from CD step all together like it would if it didn't have a CD drive in the computer, but I have tried 3 different onces, and it scans and reads it.
frankd14321 is offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 11:57 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

and the cd drive is set as master on the secondary ide channel right?
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 12:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 18
Default

yup. sure is... Believe me I am fooled too, I have built over 500 computers from scratch and have repaired many more and have never had this problem... Could it be the motherboard?
frankd14321 is offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 02:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

can u hear the cd drive spin or see the led light blink?

try formatting the HD in a different system and the setting it to master on the PC ur working on. if that doesnt work ur gonna hav to run some test on the HD.
wat type of HD is it?

the red LED light that is on or blinking randomly means that the HD is reading or writing on its disks.
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 02:57 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 18
Default

No the RED LED is on the Motherboard it's self.. I have swaped HD's already, sorry if my last messages where unclear... It's not the HD.. I am thinking a Motherboard should do the trick.. thoughts?
__________________

frankd14321 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.