Hehe I am not having a good week...Mobo - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-29-2007, 06:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 37
Default Hehe I am not having a good week...Mobo

Okies Hello again all

On the back of trying to diagnose what seems to be a cooling problem on my own system, I get a call from my dad who has an KT3 ultra2-R based system which he uses for his business. telling me that his comp won't start up and could i look at it for him.
So I did and it seems that the comp just froze whilst doing nothing particuarly stressful. (transferring some pics from phone to pc i believe) when it froze up. He restarted the system via the power button and now it won't boot.

From what i've managed to work out the BIOS had lost all trace of both its internal HDD (an 80Gb Boot and a 250Gb storage) I opened it up and moved the IDE lead over to IDE3 (RAID) and managed to get it to boot up without any real problems at all.

I'm unable to get IDE 1 or 2 to detect anything. No HDD, No Optical drives, nothing.
Was thinking mebbe IRQ conflict or something but device manager showed no conflicts and nothing on the system has been changed or anything new plugged in (that I know of)

When you take on someone elses problem it becomes your problem and somehow seems to make giving up a whole lot less possible :P

Anyone think they know how to get the IDE 1 and 2 to detect HDD again?
I've run thru the BIOS and i'm sure the settings are right (IDE channels = Both etc etc)

All Input very much appreciated

Ding
__________________

Dingadilly is offline  
Old 03-29-2007, 12:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 37
Default Re: Hehe I am not having a good week...Mobo

Ok so it has taken me nearly all day but i've gotten somewhere in the right direction with this one.
Was able to repair the master boot record through the XP cd recovery console (that admin password was a real doozie though..)
And now have what appears to be both(master and slave) of my IDE 1 functions back! :P

Problem now is hopefully a much easier one. I have two HDD attatched as master and slave on primary IDE.
Boot was real fast with just master, significantly slower with both drives hooked up.

Looking through disk management I noticed that none of my drives have been allocated drive letters. (Even though they are present on the My computer screen) I also noticed to my dismay that i have TWO active partitions on a single OS system.
One Active partition is marked correctly as my old C:\ drive, the other is a storage volume that was previously the F:\

How can i turn off the active partition on this second drive?

Anyone know.

Answers on a reply

Ding
__________________

Dingadilly is offline  
Old 03-29-2007, 02:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Hehe I am not having a good week...Mobo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dingadilly View Post
Ok so it has taken me nearly all day but i've gotten somewhere in the right direction with this one.
Was able to repair the master boot record through the XP cd recovery console (that admin password was a real doozie though..)
And now have what appears to be both(master and slave) of my IDE 1 functions back! :P

Problem now is hopefully a much easier one. I have two HDD attatched as master and slave on primary IDE.
Boot was real fast with just master, significantly slower with both drives hooked up.
get another IDE cable, and hook each one up to their own channel.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dingadilly View Post
Looking through disk management I noticed that none of my drives have been allocated drive letters. (Even though they are present on the My computer screen) I also noticed to my dismay that i have TWO active partitions on a single OS system.
One Active partition is marked correctly as my old C:\ drive, the other is a storage volume that was previously the F:\

How can i turn off the active partition on this second drive?
I don't think it matters if the second partition is active.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is GoDaddy really any good veg1992 Web Graphics and Design 7 04-16-2007 11:34 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.