Heat Monitoring Program - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-30-2005, 01:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 54
Default Heat Monitoring Program

Hi,
I recently found a good program called SpeedFan which I'm sure that many of you know about. However, it doesn't recognize my fans. My fans are connected directly to the powersupply (not connected to the motherboard). Is that the reason?
If there is no solution for that, do you know a good program that can help monitor my computer's temperature? I've tried Motherboard Monitor 5, but it doesn't support my DFI motherboard.

Thanks so much.
__________________

cssadmin is offline  
Old 08-30-2005, 04:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default Re: Heat Monitoring Program

Quote:
Originally posted by cssadmin
Hi,
I recently found a good program called SpeedFan which I'm sure that many of you know about. However, it doesn't recognize my fans. My fans are connected directly to the powersupply (not connected to the motherboard). Is that the reason?
If there is no solution for that, do you know a good program that can help monitor my computer's temperature? I've tried Motherboard Monitor 5, but it doesn't support my DFI motherboard.

Thanks so much.
I would recommend picking up a 5.25" front bay (fan & temp controller), if you've got a free 5.25 bay?

they work pretty decent... plus adds a nice touch to your case.
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Old 08-30-2005, 05:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 54
Default

Hi,
I never really thought about a fan and temp controller, but I don't think it'll fit, because my case has a front cover .
But if I find one, will it be able to monitor my fan speeds? How will it know the speeds when the fans aren't even connected to the motherboard?

Thanks
cssadmin is offline  
Old 08-30-2005, 05:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cssadmin
Hi,
I never really thought about a fan and temp controller, but I don't think it'll fit, because my case has a front cover .
But if I find one, will it be able to monitor my fan speeds? How will it know the speeds when the fans aren't even connected to the motherboard?

Thanks
My case has a front cover also and my fan controller fits just fine. I've got the "ThermalTake Shark Case".

The fan/temp controllers work like this.

4 fan controllers - RPM readings and adjustments
1.) wire hooked up directly to CPU fan
2.) wire hooked up directly to VGA fan
3.) wire hooked up directly to case fan
4.) wire hooked up directly to other case fan

4 heat sensors - TEMP readings in C or F
1.) sensor thermal taped to CPU Core or HS
2.) sensor thermal taped to VGA Core or HS
3.) sensor thermal taped to HDD
4.) sensor thermal taped to Case Chassis "internal".
HAVOC is offline  
Old 08-30-2005, 08:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 54
Default

Thanks for the explanation.
I think I'll go for fan/temp controller.
One more question: does the controller "slow down" fan speeds when the temperature is cool enough?
Also, can you tell me your fan/temp controller name? This way I can be more sure that it will fit in my case.

Thanks.
cssadmin is offline  
Old 08-31-2005, 02:04 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cssadmin
Thanks for the explanation.
I think I'll go for fan/temp controller.
One more question: does the controller "slow down" fan speeds when the temperature is cool enough?
Also, can you tell me your fan/temp controller name? This way I can be more sure that it will fit in my case.

Thanks.
Fan Controllers normally have (2) settings. (Manual - which you can change the fan speeds by hand.) AND (Automatic - were the fan speed is controller depending on the temps)

My fan controller is by AEROCOOL It's called Gatewatch. But, you'll need (2) free 5.25 bays to use it.

Search on frozencpu.com, newegg.com, xoxide.com they all have plenty of fan controllers...
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.