hdtv as monitor trouble - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-09-2008, 10:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Drogos's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,346
Default hdtv as monitor trouble

ok so i went to best buy and got this lcd hdty a few days ago
it was pc input and u need a male to male vga cable to use
it as monitor but u can also use a hdmi to dvi they dint have the danm vga cable to u got the hdmi to dvi and it works but it cuts some of my descktop so i ordered a vga cable from new egg i got it today i hooked it and it loses conection afther
afther the loading windows part i updated my vcard so i duno what im doing wrong is there a way to fix the desktop cut on the hdmi to dvi?
im doing something wrong or the vga cable is not good or something
im alredy sarted to think screw it and return the danm tv lol

thanks in advance

Drogos is offline  
Old 01-09-2008, 05:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Drogos's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,346
Default Re: hdtv as monitor trouble

i decided to use the hd tv as a secondary monitor i made it a desktop extension so ill be able to multy task that way
ill have to do for now lol

Drogos is offline  
Old 01-09-2008, 05:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: hdtv as monitor trouble

I would guess english may not be your first language?
anyways, it seems you are saying not all of your desktop is being display when you are using the hdtv...it just may be a thing of picking the right resolution. Assuming your vga can detect the settings to match the tv.
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 01-10-2008, 12:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
SHAWN's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default Re: hdtv as monitor trouble

Your desktop resolution is higher than what the TV can handle. Lower your desktop resolution to the maximum resolution your TV can handle. Read your manual if you do not know what to set it at. Once it's at the proper resolution, you should be able to boot into Windows with no problem using the TV as your primary monitor.
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 01-10-2008, 02:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
veedubfreak's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: hdtv as monitor trouble

What brand of tv is it. Never seen an hdtv with a VGA input. My tv has DVI in so i just run straight from the video card to the tv and set it to 720p.

Also, check this site out www.monoprice.com and you can always just order a dvi > hdmi cable from there.
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connecting PC video to HDTV Chaconne Computer Audio and Multimedia 1 12-01-2007 09:23 PM
how do u adjust the widescreen ratio when connecting to a HDTV? Wildside Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 09-19-2007 12:20 PM
Hdtv Silverlord Off Topic Discussion 15 06-19-2007 01:17 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.