HDTV Hookup - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-10-2012, 10:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 34
Default HDTV Hookup

I just bought a new 1080p LED HDTV and want to hook up my Xbox 360 to it with the best quality picture. Can I use an HDMI cord or does it have to be a Component HD-AV Cable? If I can use both types of cords which gives off a better quality picture on the TV?
__________________

skullknight10 is offline  
Old 01-10-2012, 01:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: HDTV Hookup

use hdmi
Connect Your Xbox 360 console to a TV | Xbox 360 HDMI | Xbox 360 AV Cable - Xbox.com - Xbox.com
__________________

Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 01-11-2012, 04:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: HDTV Hookup

Quote:
Originally Posted by skullknight10 View Post
If I can use both types of cords which gives off a better quality picture on the TV?
HDMI since it's newer (so it can handle more data), and digital so you don't lose any information due to EM noise.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 01-11-2012, 06:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: HDTV Hookup

If your Xbox 360 supports HDMI, use that, if not, then you are going to wanna use the component HD-AV cables.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 01-11-2012, 11:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Worcestershire, England
Posts: 556
Send a message via MSN to Sheepykins
Default Re: HDTV Hookup

Doesnt really matter, most of the xbox 360s on the market dont actually support up to 1080p on games, max it can do is 1080i on dvds.

people will dispute this, but its true. just look on the back of all of your games, they'll all say primarily 720p. I got the same quality through the HD-avi cables as the xbox VGA adapter i used to connect to my old CRT (was a pretty damn good CRT though)

If you want to see real quality, go ps3 but yeah

edit: but i have noticed slightly better colour vividity on the same monitor through different cable means, but i dont think the quality was noticeably different

AND people will moan, exert from wiki:
Xbox 360 Core

The Xbox 360 Core was an entry level Xbox 360 which was later replaced with the "Arcade". Although available at launch in other regions, it was not available in Japan until November 2, 2006.[51] The Core system came bundled with composite video cables, capable of only SDTV resolutions. It was however capable of the same HDTV resolutions (up to 1080i) as the other models when connected to a separately sold component cable. In October 2006, 1080p support was added for all models in a system update,[52] including the "Core" using either the component cable, or the new VGA cable (although 1080p via component was not widely supported by televisions). It may also utilize a separately sold Xbox 360 hard drive. Unlike all other SKUs, it shipped with a wired version of the Xbox 360 controller, instead of the wireless version found in other SKUs.

check the back of your games still, i bet im right
Sheepykins is offline  
Old 01-12-2012, 12:25 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 34
Default Hooking PC to HDTV for the First Time

I just bought a 37" 1080p LCD HDTV yesterday and im trying to hook it up to my PC so I can watch movies that are stored on my hard drive. I connected the HDMI cord from my video card to the HDMI-1 port on the TV and it shows my desktop wallpaper but that's it. When I open Media Player classic and start a movie nothing comes up on the TV. It's just the image of my wallpaper. Can anyone help?
skullknight10 is offline  
Old 01-12-2012, 12:31 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: HDTV Hookup

The xbox will upscale games that use lower resolutions, also, there is one key difference, digital audio, instead of regular old left/right audio, and less cables in the end.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 01-12-2012, 12:43 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Worcestershire, England
Posts: 556
Send a message via MSN to Sheepykins
Default Re: Hooking PC to HDTV for the First Time

Windows XP or 7?

you need to go into the display settings and alter the dual display as the computer is currently setting your TV as an extended version of your desktop. you should be able to drag things over to it.
Sheepykins is offline  
Old 01-12-2012, 12:44 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Worcestershire, England
Posts: 556
Send a message via MSN to Sheepykins
Default Re: HDTV Hookup

i'm an athiest, i dont believe in upscaling.
Sheepykins is offline  
Old 01-12-2012, 02:52 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 34
Default Re: Hooking PC to HDTV for the First Time

It's Windows 7. Go to the settings in my TV or Computer? Yeah I was also wondering how I can get it so that it's a full screen on my TV. Cause it's just showing a space in the middle of my TV that is the size of the monitor screen.
__________________

skullknight10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SATA hookup question bigv32 System Upgrades 2 06-06-2011 06:39 PM
Any way to have 3D without buying an expensive new HDTV? (PC to 1.3 HDMI HDTV) Sythierius Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 12-02-2010 03:27 AM
Laptop/TV hookup??? malbiar Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 07-14-2006 12:53 PM
help with motherboard hookup canooten Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 05-02-2006 06:57 PM
Need help with LED hookup Marc9118 Overclocking and Modding 3 06-29-2005 01:54 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.