HDMI to DVI problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-24-2008, 07:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
braz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,122
Default HDMI to DVI problem

I recently bought a HDMI to DVI cable so that I could connect my Xbox 360 Elite to my computer monitor. The only problem I have is how could I get sound because the guy @ tiger direct said I would get sound w/ just the cable but i don't see how this is possible since my only speakers are connected to my computer.
__________________

__________________

|Steam-Braz90|*
braz is offline  
Old 04-24-2008, 07:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: HDMI to DVI problem

LMAO, you can not get sound through video.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-24-2008, 07:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
braz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,122
Default Re: HDMI to DVI problem

Yea thats what I figured... So now how can I get sound w/ this setup?
__________________

|Steam-Braz90|*
braz is offline  
Old 04-24-2008, 07:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: HDMI to DVI problem

Composite to PC?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-24-2008, 07:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
braz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,122
Default Re: HDMI to DVI problem

Can you explain in greater detail or send a link to what I need?
(Sry for sounding so noobish about this because I am. I'm just using my friends account)
__________________

|Steam-Braz90|*
braz is offline  
Old 04-24-2008, 07:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: HDMI to DVI problem

Does the original xbox cable have red, yellow, and white on it? Also, what's the cable you bought? Model number?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-24-2008, 07:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
braz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,122
Default Re: HDMI to DVI problem

You mean the composite cables? yea. and then I bought this cable http://www.impactacoustics.com/produ...2606&sku=40320. I got Video working fine. I just need to figure out a way to get sound.
__________________

|Steam-Braz90|*
braz is offline  
Old 04-24-2008, 07:50 PM   #8 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: HDMI to DVI problem

The xbox has two outputs right? Plug in the sound as you will to a TV and use the HDMI for video and see if you get sound.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-24-2008, 08:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
braz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,122
Default Re: HDMI to DVI problem

Yea I was thinking about just doing that but i cant fit the composite cable and the HDMI cable in at the same time because the plugs are too big
__________________

|Steam-Braz90|*
braz is offline  
Old 04-24-2008, 08:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: HDMI to DVI problem

Get a knife and carefully cut off some plastic.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PC to HDTV with DVI to HDMI cable... no signal mnelson07 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-20-2008 07:40 PM
Problem in using DVI connection (For LCD Monitor) Lirei Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 03-27-2008 12:16 AM
Problem with 3D graphics mordi05 Microsoft Windows and Software 6 12-10-2007 11:37 PM
8400gs DVI problem z0ltan Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 09-17-2007 10:46 AM
Chronic Rebooting Problem AND_YOU_ARE Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-24-2007 06:04 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.