HDD temp - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-30-2010, 02:08 PM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: HDD temp

can you try a different secondary hdd, at all? or a different SATA port? It is possible for a SATA port to go bad.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-30-2010, 02:13 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: HDD temp

I have tried different sata ports. I do have a second hard drive which is the same model but right now I do not feel like uninstalling Windows of of this drive and installing it on another drive. I may try it later this evening.
__________________

__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 01-30-2010, 02:14 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: HDD temp

Make sure you have the correct Hard Drive selected as the 1st Boot Device in your Bios. You'll need to check this setting anytime you add or remove a drive from your system.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 01-30-2010, 02:25 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: HDD temp

The correct hard drive is selected as the first boot device.

I am getting confused. I just hooked up the second hard drive and now it boots up fine. Earlier, when I had the second drive hooked up, it would not boot up or it was real slow. I did not do anything different.

I am going to hook the dvd drive up and see what happens. What in the heck is going on? I am losing my mind although most people would say I never really had it

EDIT: I hooked the dvd drive up and it still boots up fine. So far it is working fine with everything hooked up. I am still having trouble with transfer speeds being slow. If I try to copy 70 gigs of files, it takes forever. The speed will not stop going down. It starts out around 100mb's for a few seconds then just keeps going down. I have ran the WD Diagnostic tool and both drives failed both tests, it says cable test: write sector error. This also happened on the first 2 drives I had.
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 01-30-2010, 03:22 PM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: HDD temp

could be a bad secondary hdd.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 02-01-2010, 11:07 AM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: HDD temp

Tell me if this makes any sense. If I have all three drives hooked up, 2 HDD's and 1 dvd drive, it boots up just fine. But if I unhook just one drive, it does not want to boot up. I have unhooked every other drive except the Windows drive and it does not want to boot no matter which SATA port I use either. As soon as I hook all three drives up, it boots up just fine. I was thinking bad motherboard ports but now I just don't know.

The transfer speeds are still slow between the two hard drives. But that could be a whole different problem.
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 02-01-2010, 11:10 AM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
joelm3103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: -Trinidad- and Tobago, Caribbean.
Posts: 1,750
Default Re: HDD temp

Quote:
Originally Posted by memory View Post
Tell me if this makes any sense. If I have all three drives hooked up, 2 HDD's and 1 dvd drive, it boots up just fine. But if I unhook just one drive, it does not want to boot up. I have unhooked every other drive except the Windows drive and it does not want to boot no matter which SATA port I use either. As soon as I hook all three drives up, it boots up just fine. I was thinking bad motherboard ports but now I just don't know.

The transfer speeds are still slow between the two hard drives. But that could be a whole different problem.
When you say it doesn't boot, you get any specific error or BSOD?
__________________
Need to update my siggy!
joelm3103 is offline  
Old 02-01-2010, 11:20 AM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: HDD temp

I do get a BSOD, just not every time, but I can not read it since it restarts right away. Sometimes it wants to check the disk for consistency.

Also, I can not pass the WD Diagnostic tool just like the original drives I bought. Surely it is not the hard drives. I mean what are the chances of getting 4 bad hard drives?
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 02-01-2010, 11:28 AM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
joelm3103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: -Trinidad- and Tobago, Caribbean.
Posts: 1,750
Default Re: HDD temp

Quote:
Originally Posted by memory View Post
I do get a BSOD, just not every time, but I can not read it since it restarts right away. Sometimes it wants to check the disk for consistency.

Also, I can not pass the WD Diagnostic tool just like the original drives I bought. Surely it is not the hard drives. I mean what are the chances of getting 4 bad hard drives?
Ummm I can't remember exactly but I know it has a way to stop the restarts so you can read the BSOD; not sure if you're quite sure the option I'm talking about but I do hope so (or hope someone jumps in and fill my gap lol). Also the chances may be slightly high if it's the same store/outlet you bought all 4 HDDs from (assuming it's the same).

Edit: It checks for consistency because of the unusual shutdowns/restarts.

Edit 2: Here's the option I was looking for Disable Blue screen of death auto reboot. Instructions may vary depending on your OS, but shouldn't be much of a problem.
__________________
Need to update my siggy!
joelm3103 is offline  
Old 02-01-2010, 05:16 PM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: HDD temp

Good job, Jo. I was thinking along the same lines. I couldn't remember that either, but reading it, it all came back to me.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Percentage Button Oreo Programming 2 11-13-2009 05:25 PM
HDD issue!! *please help me* SirCyber Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 08-23-2008 10:09 PM
C zone of IBM/Hitachi HDD SalvationDATA Laptops and Notebooks 0 12-27-2007 02:04 AM
HDD configuration with Windows XP- an odd question Kisskerven New Systems | Building and Buying 6 10-20-2007 08:56 PM


Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.