HDD SOFT error - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-14-2008, 04:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
 
djmaddogfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Waterbury, CT
Posts: 121
Send a message via AIM to djmaddogfreak
Default HDD SOFT error

Customer has a DELL XPS M140 Laptop, when booting from HDD, windows setup pops up and says "system is restarting" like it just finished installing a major service pack or something. The system starts to boot slowly, then restarts. Trying to boot again, it told me that "Internal HDD SOFT error" had occurred. Any ideas as to what that is?

BTW, trying to run CHKDSK from restore disk, first attempt no good, when it asked me to pick the version of windows to repair, i had two options.

1.C:\Windows
2.C:\Windows7

Tried selecting the first one, and froze.
__________________

__________________
System Specs:
ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe Mobo
AMD X2 64 bit 4600+ O.C. 15%(from 2.40 GHz to 2.65 GHZ)
4X1GB Crucial Ballistic Tracer O.C. to 880 MHz @ 4-4-4-12
2 - 500 Gig Seagate 7200 RPM HDDs
2 - 160 GB WD 7200 RPM HDD in RAID 0
NVidia GeForce 8800 GT with 512 megs of RAM
Liquid Cooled Processor
Windows Vista Ultimate 64
My Business
djmaddogfreak is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 04:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 337
Send a message via AIM to shdwsclan
Default Re: HDD SOFT error

The hard drive is probably dead....well not dead as a doornail but dying.
Either its peppered with damaged sectors and drive is endlessly retrying or diagnostic and maintenance subtracts have been damaged.

Either way, he needs a new drive....
__________________

shdwsclan is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 05:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
djmaddogfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Waterbury, CT
Posts: 121
Send a message via AIM to djmaddogfreak
Default Re: HDD SOFT error

Fair enough, thats what I figured, just wanted a second opinion.

I did get chkdsk to run, but it's very very slow, i turned on the extended test to check for bad sectors and attempt to repair, but I doubt that will do anything more but buy maybe a few days more time.

Thanks.
__________________
System Specs:
ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe Mobo
AMD X2 64 bit 4600+ O.C. 15%(from 2.40 GHz to 2.65 GHZ)
4X1GB Crucial Ballistic Tracer O.C. to 880 MHz @ 4-4-4-12
2 - 500 Gig Seagate 7200 RPM HDDs
2 - 160 GB WD 7200 RPM HDD in RAID 0
NVidia GeForce 8800 GT with 512 megs of RAM
Liquid Cooled Processor
Windows Vista Ultimate 64
My Business
djmaddogfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
C zone of IBM/Hitachi HDD SalvationDATA Laptops and Notebooks 0 12-27-2007 02:04 AM
Error handling tony.willson Programming 1 12-09-2007 06:13 PM
HDD loses USB 2.0 when it encounters bad sector AbeAbe Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 11-27-2007 09:59 PM
HDD configuration with Windows XP- an odd question Kisskerven New Systems | Building and Buying 6 10-20-2007 08:56 PM
HDD crash leo572 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 09-30-2007 10:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.