HDD size - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-27-2005, 01:04 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7
Default

western digital WDC WD200EB - 11CFP0
__________________

iharish_bang is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 01:24 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Huh???? Model is a 20 gig drive........now I'm really confused!http://xboxdrives.x-pec.com/?p=list&...n=&v_postedby=

If it is a 40 gig it shold be a WD400 somethingorother.
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 02:00 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7
Default

sorry i gave u a wrong computer's HDD size.. apologies ... the correct on would be western digital WDC wd400BB - 60dga0
iharish_bang is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 02:23 PM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Now we're talkin'!!!! I have read that that drive may misreport drive size to XP if set on cable select. Jumper it as either the mater or slave.
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 03:06 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7
Default

this HDD has been jumpered as master......
iharish_bang is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 04:33 PM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Run defrag in xp and it should tell you if there are a significant number of sectors that are marked as bad. You can also run chkdsk from the "dos" prompt in CMD (from Run) and see if you get sector errors as well. Also, go to the WD web site and download their latest HD software and run their HD diagnostic.
http://support.wdc.com/download/index.asp
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.