HDD size - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-26-2005, 03:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7
Default HDD size

i formated my HDD and after loading Win XP pro teh HDD size in OS is only showing 33 GB and teh HDD size is 40 GB.... Please suggest
__________________

iharish_bang is offline  
Old 12-26-2005, 04:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 26
Default

assuming that you check the exact size of the drive before you re instaled the XP pro, ignore the next paragraph. if this is the first time you looked check this..

im guessing that this could be somthing to do with the buffer? and maybe the normal paramiters where the drive if defined. i oftern find that i have a drive up to 5-6Gb out of what its described as.
__________________

Harkonan is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 10:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7
Default

so is it normal or something wrong with my drive or OS.... if yes please suggest how to retrieve back the capacity....
iharish_bang is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 10:21 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,243
Send a message via AIM to CrAzY_GaMeR_07
Default

did you use quick format?
__________________
CrAzY_GaMeR_07 is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 10:36 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

The problem with drive size, as reported by manufacturers today, is that a gigabyte is actually reported in binary not metric value. We assume that 1 megabyte = 1,000 bytes which is not true. The Gigabyte, in binary, is actually 2 to the 30th power or 1073741824 bytes. So, 40 gig metric divided by 1,073,741,824 = 37 gigs (approximate). Yours is reporting 33?????? please open My Computer and right click on that hard drive and tell me what is reported in the properties on that hard drive????
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 10:44 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7
Default

yes i used a quick format... and the size is from teh proprties of teh HDD it shows total size as 33.1 GB and 27.9 free space, i don't have any application like MS office installed it is a clean installation.....
iharish_bang is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 11:04 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

maybe it was partitioned incorrectly. but like rico said it will always be smaller because of the difference between binary and the metric associations that have been made.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 11:12 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

The properties section should report the number of partitions. More than 1? It may well be that you will have to boot up that puter with a floppy and run Fdisk and remove the non-disk partition and then reintall windows. That drive should show 37+ gigs not 33.
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 12:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7
Default

only one partition...
iharish_bang is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 12:24 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Please tell me the drive manufacturer and model #. Very puzzling why it should onl read as a 33 gig dirve>????????
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.