HDD shaking - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-03-2012, 04:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: westvirginia
Posts: 5
Default HDD shaking

My hard drive shakes to much (says my computer) and it shuts off or freezers with weird black lines across the screen I don't know much about computers but I fried my old hard drive by over clocking it and had to get a new one. but how can this one move to much and what can I do to fix it. I will barley pick the computer up and it shuts off.
__________________

justcody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 04:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: HDD shaking

Back up data, get a new drive. That is probably all you can do.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 05:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: westvirginia
Posts: 5
Default Re: HDD shaking

Ok thanks is there tests I can do to see if thats it or not?
justcody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 07:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: HDD shaking

No, I think this is a hardware malfunction, not software.

While software could detect this, you'd come to the same answer. Back it up and get a new drive.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 07:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: westvirginia
Posts: 5
Default Re: HDD shaking

Oh ok thanks mindover I have a two year old toshiba a665 and its falling apart it has 4gb of ram 160gb HHD and i3 should I put the money in to it or should I get a new computer like theres cracks in the case and missing screws every wear lol
justcody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 09:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: HDD shaking

I would personally set it up as a server, but, that's me. :P
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 12:24 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 49
Default Re: HDD shaking

Yes you can test your hard drive. Download Hirens Boot CD and burn the ISO to a disk and run Test hard disk drive 1.0 and run a surface test. Also, I just want to make sure and I am in no way trying to insult you or your intelligence but what exactly are you calling the hard drive? The tower or the actual hdd inside of the tower?
superagentx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 01:42 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
JustinBoSc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 14
Default Re: HDD shaking

Quote:
Originally Posted by justcody View Post
My hard drive shakes to much (says my computer) and it shuts off or freezers with weird black lines across the screen I don't know much about computers but I fried my old hard drive by over clocking it and had to get a new one. but how can this one move to much and what can I do to fix it. I will barley pick the computer up and it shuts off.
You overclocked your hard drive?
JustinBoSc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 03:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: westvirginia
Posts: 5
Default Re: HDD shaking

I used to a little bit for like a month to run a game better after that no.
justcody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 03:44 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: westvirginia
Posts: 5
Default Re: HDD shaking

Ok awesome thanks will try that and my the actual hard drive its in a laptop my idea is either there is something wrong with it, or its how it is sitting in the computer like it might not have good support. the screw for the cover is on good and everything
__________________

justcody is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Screen is flickering or shaking Stypher Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 01-28-2009 04:31 PM
firefox page shaking mikee Internet Software and Browsers 5 05-01-2006 02:11 PM
Looks just like someone is shaking it vigoriously duugg Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 13 04-08-2005 07:42 AM
shaking mouse jono30001 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 34 03-17-2005 10:14 AM
monitor picture is shaking Jerigorn Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 10 12-22-2004 02:49 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.