HDD resurrection? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-26-2006, 10:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1
Send a message via Yahoo to Gilgamesh80
Default HDD resurrection?

Greetings!

I'm trying to find out if I can revive a fatal HDD. My wife's computer began the deadly "clicking" this last weekend and has now flatlined. I can't get any BIOS to see it as master or slave. it just makes the click of doom.

My question is: Can I physically open the HDD and see if there's a widget or thingymabob I can replace/Macgyver rig to get it to work? If so, will opening the HDD destroy the data?

If nothing else, I'm open to ANY suggestions.

Thanks in advance.
__________________

Gilgamesh80 is offline  
Old 12-26-2006, 10:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
kfc469's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 928
Send a message via AIM to kfc469
Default

opening it would most likely destroy the drive further, so there may be no hope. But, if you want to, you could try opening it up and switching the platters from the broken drive into a working hdd. But, if you really want this, you would need some kind of clean room because there can be 0 dust in there because it will screw everything up.
__________________

__________________

kfc469 is offline  
Old 12-27-2006, 09:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
networkgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: TN
Posts: 367
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by kfc469
opening it would most likely destroy the drive further, so there may be no hope. But, if you want to, you could try opening it up and switching the platters from the broken drive into a working hdd. But, if you really want this, you would need some kind of clean room because there can be 0 dust in there because it will screw everything up.


yeah I would suggest if the data is critical. then call a data recovery center about it. they will charge a lot though for the repairs.

if not then you just have to eat the loss and backup next time. sorry to be brutal but just being honest.

sometimes freezing the drive helps though. but that too is risky and I dont know the exact details about how to do it heh
networkgeek is offline  
Old 12-27-2006, 09:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

might try the freezer trick...seal it in a plastic bag lay it on top of a newspaper in the freezer for a few hours or a day or 2 and try it again, if it works, back it up immediately
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 12-27-2006, 10:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by IBMan
might try the freezer trick...seal it in a plastic bag lay it on top of a newspaper in the freezer for a few hours or a day or 2 and try it again, if it works, back it up immediately

Just want I was going to suggest. A few hours is all you need though... if it's not going to work after 3-4 hours... it's ain't gonna work after 24-36 hours...

but if it does.... then BACK UP... SOONEST!!
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 12-27-2006, 12:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Hard drives are so cheap that it doesn't make any sense to have no back up drive!!! I have had an occation to pull the controller board and replace it wiht a DOA drive of exactly the same model off of Ebay. If it is the controller board then you can save the data. There are clean room data recovery services but they will cost you several hundred dollars to extract data. Special clean room equipment is used by removing the the platen disks and installing then in a universal drive caddy. I would, frankly, write if off to experience. Hopefully your wife isn't asking you to sleep on the sofa???
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 12-27-2006, 01:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
LA1
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: eastcoast
Posts: 453
Default

Quote:
sometimes freezing the drive helps though. but that too is risky and I dont know the exact details about how to do it heh
NOT FOR THE CLICK OF DEATH, Sorry
FYI I have used freezing twice . It seems to only help non click of death drives that spin up, but can not read any data. The not reading any data is not because of bad electronics, but have theories that it is mechanical and the freezing causes maybe bearings to contract, who knows
I have frozen 3 drives 2 I got data off of. Once the drive thaws it is no longer good.
do a dry run ( w/o freezing) first , running from the frig with the drive to the pc and hook up like for real. Make sure any jumpers are set, bios is set to boot from floppy, cdrom ...or ? .I like to disconnect all on the secondary ide and connect the drive to clone to , no jumpers to set, the freezer pop HD goes on the primary ide chanell. Both that I saved data from I used Ghost from a floppy. As soon as the HD thaws it starts slipping into worst and worst. When the water doplets start forming it is close to all over. I figure 5-8 minutes from frig to no read. Wrap the hd up with plastic in the frig, use rubberbands so it is easy to ubwrap.
__________________
LA1 is offline  
Old 12-27-2006, 03:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
networkgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: TN
Posts: 367
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by LA1
NOT FOR THE CLICK OF DEATH, Sorry
hmm didnt know that, as I said I never tried the freeze trick myself. data recovery would be the only option then I guess.
networkgeek is offline  
Old 12-27-2006, 09:58 PM   #9 (permalink)
LA1
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: eastcoast
Posts: 453
Default

Yup Ontrac or Ontrack is the best. I heard it can be on the highside of triple digit. $$$$$$$$
__________________

__________________
LA1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.