hdd: reallocated sector - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-22-2010, 11:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default hdd: reallocated sector

i installed crystaldiskinfo 3.8.0, and upon start up, it's telling me that my hdd's health status should be under caution:



i don't know too much about this, but some googleing has hinted me that this is most likely not a good thing, apparently a sign of a failing hdd.

just wanna know what you guys think.
__________________

Muffin Man is offline  
Old 09-23-2010, 12:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: hdd: reallocated sector

It means you have an abnormally high amount of bad/damaged sectors, that have been found/moved and what not, which can mean the drive is failing, or it was jarred around really hard while it was on at one point.

Anytime SMART data is reporting something beyond the normal standard, I take heed and back up that drive, wipe it, and replace it with a new drive.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 09-23-2010, 01:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: hdd: reallocated sector

It only reallocated 8 sectors from what I can tell. While reallocated sectors aren't good, larger drives are more likely to have a few bad sectors due to high platter density. My Seagate 1.5TB has several reallocated sectors but still runs great, all the other SMART parameters are fine and I run it 24/7 (switching it out for a RAID 5 array now but it still works). Drives do have spare sectors reserved so if the drive finds a sector that doesn't write properly it tries to move the data to a spare sector and flags the bad sector as such. A drive may have several bad sectors from the factory but they will only be detected when the drive tries to use them, so if you've never filled up the drive completely more may show up. If the number starts skyrocketing or rises quickly in a short time it may indicate more serious damage (most likely head damage) and you should consider backing up the data.
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 09-23-2010, 03:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: hdd: reallocated sector

What's odd about his issue is, he has re-allocated sectors, I have a few very large drives that have had bad sectors and so on, and repairs usually work and they get flagged and so on.

BUT, after firing up crystal, it reports ALL drives with ZERO re-allocated sectors.

Read the bottom half of this with the chart, it's rather interesting.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/S.M.A.R.T.


That type of error is usually associated with, "Potential indicators of imminent electromechanical failure"
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 09-23-2010, 01:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: hdd: reallocated sector

well atleast i don't have anything real important to backup, just a few pics and some music.

thx for the info guys.
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 09-23-2010, 07:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: hdd: reallocated sector

You have a new used drive coming
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 09-23-2010, 08:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: hdd: reallocated sector

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
You have a new used drive coming
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 09-23-2010, 11:50 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: hdd: reallocated sector

I'm not trying to butt in but is that software for free ? kinda worried about my mothers 40.00gb hdd.
It's screwing up windows 7 ultimate files for quite a bit and I think it wants to go.
-RockMan- is offline  
Old 09-23-2010, 11:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: hdd: reallocated sector

yep.
Download Center - Crystal Dew World
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 09-24-2010, 01:03 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: hdd: reallocated sector

The software is totaly free, as it just reports what SMART from your drive is reporting, theres hundreds of other alternatives as well.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bad Boot Sector? ABooth22 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 10-16-2009 04:50 PM
Hdd Bad Sector delta_cop Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 12-17-2005 09:13 AM
IT Sector in Canada JamesY Technology Careers and Education 0 05-06-2005 02:37 AM
boot sector phake Viruses, Spyware and Malware 7 11-05-2004 05:46 AM
HDD prolem - sector EdgeofSanity Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 10-02-2004 08:46 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.