HDD problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-02-2015, 01:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default HDD problems

So, i have an old 1TB HDD that i keept from an old build, maybe 2-3 years old? Hasn't been used since then. Windows doesnt seem to want to install on the new PC, i'm pretty sure that HD was corrupted or something, but wouldn't formatting it remove that and make windows install on a different part?

I won't be able to use my new pc

What if i was to take the HD out of my HP Pro desktop, and put that inside the new PC? Uninstall all the drivers, and use that, would that work?
__________________

TheHumanComputer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2015, 02:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: HDD problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheHumanComputer View Post
So, i have an old 1TB HDD that i keept from an old build, maybe 2-3 years old? Hasn't been used since then. Windows doesnt seem to want to install on the new PC, i'm pretty sure that HD was corrupted or something, but wouldn't formatting it remove that and make windows install on a different part?
Does the drive have any bad sectors? Run a chkdsk /f on it from recovery (or hooked up to another PC as a secondary drive) and see what it finds out.

Quote:
I won't be able to use my new pc

What if i was to take the HD out of my HP Pro desktop, and put that inside the new PC? Uninstall all the drivers, and use that, would that work?
50/50 shot. Sometimes Windows will just install the drivers for the new hardware and go along it's merry way - other times it will just throw BSOD's because the hardware profile has changed. I've really only ever seen it work correctly on Windows 7 Pro, but never Home or Enterprise. If it gives BSOD's then you'd have to reinstall Windows to get it to work correctly.

If it works correctly...then you're golden..however, that doesn't shy away from the fact that hardware changed dramatically, and the license will deactivate. If it's a retail license all you have to do is call in and reactivate. If it's running an OEM license...then legally you can't be using that key on the new system (OEM = 1 key, installed on 1 system, no transfers) - you'd have to buy a new key (though there are loopholes around it, but that can't be discussed here).
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2015, 02:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Enid Oklahoma
Posts: 331
Default Re: HDD problems

Hi! Why don't you test your 1TB HDD with your HP Pro desktop, or am I missing something?? Formatting at HDD will not fix bad sectors. What do you mean you think it was corrupted or something??
14 Free Hard Drive Testing Tools (September 2015)
Sorry Carnage! Looks like I posted the same time! Didn't see you on line!
I'll bow out!
Gary
donetao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2015, 02:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: HDD problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Does the drive have any bad sectors? Run a chkdsk /f on it from recovery (or hooked up to another PC as a secondary drive) and see what it finds out.



50/50 shot. Sometimes Windows will just install the drivers for the new hardware and go along it's merry way - other times it will just throw BSOD's because the hardware profile has changed. I've really only ever seen it work correctly on Windows 7 Pro, but never Home or Enterprise. If it gives BSOD's then you'd have to reinstall Windows to get it to work correctly.

If it works correctly...then you're golden..however, that doesn't shy away from the fact that hardware changed dramatically, and the license will deactivate. If it's a retail license all you have to do is call in and reactivate. If it's running an OEM license...then legally you can't be using that key on the new system (OEM = 1 key, installed on 1 system, no transfers) - you'd have to buy a new key (though there are loopholes around it, but that can't be discussed here).
Could if be discussed in PM? lol

I believe i punched my old PC as it got very laggy, so i think that may have damaged the HD, it won't install windows at all, just says windows has run into an error, although i have now sauced a 500gb HD. Will have to try and get my SSD later on.

This HP pro come with windows 8.1, so im guessing it wouldnt work then?
TheHumanComputer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sata hdd and eide hdd together... dc5 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 03-22-2005 12:17 AM
SATA HDD and IDE HDD in same PC botello57 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 02-11-2005 02:29 PM
1 SATA HDD and 1 IDE HDD d_source Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 02-11-2005 11:45 AM
HDD to HDD copy, best software? Raphael Argus Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 9 10-03-2004 09:51 PM
Old HDD to new HDD runescaper Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 04-10-2004 09:31 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.